Megadeth // The Sick, The Dying and The Dead // Album Review


Synonymous with fast technical thrash metal Megadeth has carved out an amazing career spanning forty years with some killer albums and the usual band ups and downs thrown in; with that being said this latest offering is a massive throwback to their original sound, relentless drum and bass beat’s with savage guitar riffs and solos coming in over the top while Mustaine snarls and growls his way through the album as only he can.

The title and opening track, “The Sick, The Dying and The Dead” set a really high bar, setting an ominous tone with some guy shouting “Bring Out Your Dead” with a slowly plucked guitar leading you into the first real refrains of the song with the trademark Megadeth chugging riffs and killer drum beat, Mustaine is on top form here with his gruff vocal style matching the timing of the main riff with ease, Kiko’s shredding is as always immense but he takes it up a notch here and it really takes the track up a level. There is one noticeable difference on this album, something that has been missing from the last couple of albums in fact, and it is the heaviness, there seems to be a concerted effort to make this really heavy but with a melodic and harmonious side and it works big time. Tracks like “Life In Hell”, “Dogs Of Chernobyl” and “Junkie” gives you an idea of what they have done, alternating between crunching and galloping riffs, kicking drums and thumping bass lines, the guitar interplay between Mustaine and Kiko is off the charts throughout the album which adds to the listening experience. Ice T lends his voice on the brilliant “Night Stalkers”, a typical Megadeth barnburner, a million miles an hour with an incessant drum beat that will kick the living shit outta you backed up by some gnarly riffs that will have heads banging left, right and centre, Kiko throws out a couple of crushing solos just to remind you of his undoubted ability, a cracking track.

“Killing Time” slows the pace slightly but keeps the heavy with grinding riffs and thick bass, Mustaine is at his snarling best here as he spits out the lyrics with venom. “Célebutante” for me is the surprise package on here; its really fast with a blistering drum beat and just a hint of Mechanix in the riffs, it drops to serious old school midway through with grinding riffs and thumping drums before they bring it back around and Kiko lets rip with a monster solo that brings the track to a close, this is a serious contender for track of the album. “We’ll Be back” closes out the album and how, this is like a mash-up of some of the best tracks from their back catalogue, an all-out thrashfest that kicks ass, takes names and will leave you drooling for more. 

“The Sick, The Dying and The Dead” is out September 2nd via UMC, this is a banging album, not so much a return to form but a reaffirmation of Megadeth’s prowess.




Featuring twelve new tracks, The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead! will be released on CD, vinyl, and cassette, as well as digitally through all online partners and can be pre-ordered/pre-saved HERE. There will also be a limited deluxe edition 2LP, 12-track album pressed on 180g black vinyl, housed in a numbered gatefold jacket with a 12×24 lyrics/credits insert, a lenticular vinyl lithograph and a bonus 7-inch featuring ‘We’ll Be Back’ and the unreleased b-side ‘The Conjuring (Live).’ The limited deluxe edition can only be purchased via MEGADETH’s official online store, through Sound of Vinyl, and uDiscover, and can be pre-ordered HERE.

The Sick, The Dying…And The Dead!
1) The Sick, The Dying… And The Dead!
2) Life In Hell
3) Night Stalkers (feat. Ice T)
4) Dogs Of Chernobyl
5) Sacrifice
6) Junkie
7) Psychopathy
8) Killing Time
9) Soldier On!
10) Celebutante
11) Mission To Mars
12) We’ll Be Back
13) Police Truck *
14) This Planet’s On Fire (Burn In Hell) (feat. Sammy Hagar) *
* (digital only)
Find Megadeth Online
Facebook  Twitter  Instagram


Megadeth are:

Dave Mustaine Lead vocals/Guitar

Kiko Loureiro Guitar/ Backing vocals

Dirk Verbeuren Drums

Steve Di Giorgio Bass

%d bloggers like this: