Grant The Sun – Norwegian Progressive Metal Trio Stream Entire New Album “Voyage”

Grant The Sun – Norwegian Progressive Metal Trio Stream Entire New Album “Voyage” Via Everything Is Noise

Norwegian progressive metal trio Grant The Sun, comprised of current and former members of Insense and Beaten to Death, today share their first full-length album “Voyage”, just a few days ahead of the release set for this Friday June 9th via Mas-Kina Records.
The full album is now playing at Everything Is Noise, who had this to say about the release “Hitting somewhere between the styles of Cloudkicker, Devin Townsend, and hints of early Mastodon, this album will have you hooked, even if just for a catch and release. Tracks such as “Machina”, “Death Is Real”, and “Vertigo” will quickly pull you into a current that, before you know it, lands you more than halfway through the 8-track, heavy-as-a-heavy-thing scuba sesh. Just keep swimming; The latter portion only gets better…”

Listen to “Voyage” here.

The follow-up to the band’s critically lauded EP “Sylvain” is a 39-minute inventive and powerful musical experience, journeying through the realms of prog, metal and post-rock, masterfully weaving from pounding and fierce polymetric metal through sprawling and irreverent groove-laden riffs to beautifully captivating melodies. Pre-orders for the vinyl version are now available at this location.

Having launched three Eps to date, all entirely instrumental, “Voyage” is the first ever Grant the Sun release to incorporate vocals, with guitarist Markus Lillehaug Johnsen handling all clean vocalizations while guitarist Martin Rygge (who also handles guitars in grindcore group Beaten To Death) providing the fiercer screams. It’s also the first release to be written with the bass lines in mind. Previous effort “Sylvain” was pivotal to this change, when producer Danne Bergstrand and Meshuggah guitar extraordinaire Fredrik Thordendal thought the songs lacked some bass frequencies and Thordendal steeped in to play bass on the EP.

As a result, “Voyage” is undoubtedly their greatest and most complete achievement to date, encompassing a wide breadth of moods and sonic landscapes and at the same time avoiding easy categorization.