You Me At Six // Truth Decay // Album Review


You Me At Six release their eighth studio album “Truth Decay” on the 10th of February, a thirteen-track monster with all kinds of anthemic pop punk and rock killers.

“Deep Cuts” kicks it all off in great fashion; a hypnotic drum beat and thumping bass line give you a killer rhythm that is so catchy it’s unreal, the Franz Ferdinand-style riff that runs in the background is brilliant with cracking vocals you couldn’t ask for a better opening.

“Mixed Emotions (I Didn’t Know How To Tell You What I Was Going Through)” has a slow soft opening that explodes into life at the end of the first verse, the bass is so pronounced that you will be tapping your foot without even realising, a great chorus with a serious hook, this is a real earworm. “God Bless The 90s Kids” is the big anthemic hit that any band wants, this will go down a storm at gigs, a pop-punk monster that smashes it out of the park with a crisp sound; thunderous drums, fat bass and sharp riffs, Bowling For Soup, Alien Ant Farm and a few other springs to mind, cracking tune.

“After Love In The After Hours” is a more bass-influenced track that just kills, darker than the previous tracks give a nice kick, one of the best tracks on the album. As the album goes on the tracks get better and “No Future? Yeah Right” is no exception with Rou Reynolds from Enter Shikari guesting, is heavier than the rest so far and has a nice mix of clean and screamed vocals as both Franceschi and Reynolds play off one and other to great effect, once again the bass is really prominent and a funky electro beat that runs in the background gives the track an added kick, not that it needed it.

Electro-pop belter “heartLESS” leans heavily on the synth side of things and while it’s not a “rocker” per se, when the chorus hits and the drums and guitars come crashing in it certainly becomes one, a really solid track. “Who Needs Revenge When I’ve Got Ellen Rae” opens up with an acoustic guitar and synth combo that lures you in before blowing up in a cacophony of drums, guitars and bass, a great tempo and rhythm coupled with cool vocals gives you a cracking track that will get you moving. Electro-styled “Breakdown” is a bit of a departure from the norm for these guys but it works big time, the hip-hop-style vocals and monster bass line make this track a beast. “Traumatic Iconic” brings things back with a smooth little number, cool riffs backed up by a kicking drum beat help drive the song and its melodic chorus is hooky AF, there is a hint of 3rd Eye Blind on this one so what’s not to love. “:mydopamine:” is a bass-driven track that crushes, add in crashing drums and killer riffs and you’ve got an instant classic, possibly the best track on the album. “A Smile To Make You Weak(er) At The Knees” is a nice fast-paced toe-tapper that hooks you instantly, another that will go down a treat live. “Ultraviolence” is another synth-based track that coupled with Barnes’ thunderous bass gives you a heavy kick, gritty riffs and strong vocals giving you a monster track that is a close second for track of the album.

Closing the album with an atmospheric ballad is “A Love Letter To Those Who Feel Lost”, Cody Frost of X factor fame guests on vocals to give a haunting backup to Franceschi’s excellent vocals, it’s a nice way to finish the album.

“Truth Decay” is out 10th of February, thirteen tracks may look daunting but believe me they go by in the blink of an eye, a brilliant album


Review: Conor


  DEEP CUTS 4:14
  Mixed Emotions (I Didn’t Know How To Tell You What I Was Going Through) 4:10
  God Bless The 90s Kids 3:23
  After Love In The After Hours 4:00
  No Future? Yeah Right (feat. Rou Reynolds) 3:18
  heartLESS 3:27
  Who Needs Revenge When I’ve Got Ellen Rae 2:54
  Breakdown 3:10
  Traumatic Iconic 2:47
  :mydopamine: 3:33
  A Smile To Make You Weak(er) At The Knees 2:47
  Ultraviolence 3:47
  A Love Letter To Those Who Feel Lost (Feat. Cody Frost) 4:11




Me You At Six are:

Josh Franceschi Vocals

Max Helyer Rhythm guitar/backing vocals

Chris Miller Lead guitar

Matt Barnes Bass/backing vocals

Dan Flint Drums