Amongst Liars // By Design // Album Review


Amongst Liars are set to release their second album “By Design” on the 5th of July, a brilliant follow-up to their acclaimed self-titled debut. 

Kicking off with “Prelude” an atmospheric intro that flows straight into “Ready For This”; a real slow burner that comes to life in a flurry of guitars, drums and bass as George delivers an epic performance on vocals, drawing you in with his soft tone before hitting you with a gut punch as he explodes into life, with this kind of opening track you know you’re in for a treat.

Smashing you right in the face is “You Are Not A Slave”; a hard-hitting punk-style track that you can feel the attitude dripping off it, the riffs are savage and Oarton’s thumping drum beat really drives it on while George snarls his way through the track, a great guitar solo from Burdett thrown in and Towner’s booming bass set this one off big time. Title track “By Design” changes things up a bit with a more nu-metal style, melodic tempered verses lead into a soaring chorus’ with a Linkin Park vibe; heavy but not over the top that mixes nicely with Brumeo’s keys, a great track. Oarton and Burdett combine on “The Shameful” to blow your mind with their assault on the senses, Oarton with his kicking drum beat and Burdett with his old school distorted guitar play as George does a similar trick with his vocals giving them a gritty edge through distortion. This kickass rocker gets the blood pumping.

“Mind” has to be one of the best tracks on the album, from a slow opening with a scratchy picking of the guitar and a quiet drum beat it slowly builds, George’s near-spoken vocals lure you in before it explodes in a crescendo of heavy riffs, buzzing bass and blistering drums as George really opens the pipes and goes at it full belt, unreal. “Vice” has a more definite electro sound with Brumeo’s keys coming to the fore, the heavy drum and bass backdrop prop this one up, different to the rest of the tracks but it fits well with them. As the title suggests “No Control” is a bit of a banger, everything is turned up to eleven and is frantic, crashing drums and cutting riffs rule while George and guest vocalist Richie Hevanz’s similar vocal stylings play well together. “Alibi” lowers the tone, increasing the heaviness, George’s vocals are melodic and in contrast to the instrument but complement each other perfectly, giving you an amazing track. “Say” is a haunting ballad-style number that is stripped back to the bones, Georges’s lamenting vocals are fantastic and show another side to his immense talent, pure perfection. The album closes with “Wolf Machine” a savage track that has elements of metal and punk in equal measure and will blow your socks off, once again Oarton and Towner lay the foundations with a thunderous rhythm and far from shirking his responsibilities Burdett puts in a killer shift with massive riffs and a ripper solo, George’s vocals are dripping in attitude as he screams his way through the track, an epic finish to a brilliant album.

“By Design” is out on the 5th of July via Earache Records, do not miss one of the best albums of the year from a band on the up!

Pre-order and save By Design here.

Review: Conor

Album Artwork Track Listing:
1. Prelude
2. Ready For This? 
3. You Are Not a Slave
4. By Design
5. The Shameful
6. Mind
7. Vice
8. No Control
9. Alibi
10. Say
11. Wolf Machine
A tight powerhouse of a band; urgent, questioning, loud and fierce. Together they play heavy and direct modern rock ’n’ roll: massive riffs and powerful, melodic choruses, fuzzy guitar, pummelling drums and bass, pin-balling between heavy alternative rock, grunge and punk. They also have a lyricist who can’t help but use his band as a platform to air anxieties and raise questions about the world we live in. Debut self-titled album was released in July 2022 to critical acclaim and ‘You Are Not a Slave’ is the fourth release from their sophomore album Design, scheduled for release on 4th July 2024. Earlier single from Design called ‘The Shameful’ was selected as Metal Hammer’s Track of the Week.

Band Members:
Ian George – vocals
Leo Burdett – guitars
Adam Oarton – drums
Ross Towner – bass
James Brumeo – keys

Social Media:
Website | Facebook | Instagram | Twitter ​