The Wonder Years // The Hum Goes On Forever // Album Review


Having drifted in and out of The Wonder Years music over the years I was interested to see if they still had the magnetism that they became known for when they broke onto the scene, and needless to say I was pleasantly surprised to hear that they still make kickass music with all the emotion and vigour of old and then some.

The album opens with the cracking “Doors I Painted Shut”; a softly sung, gently strummed ballad that crescendos towards the end as the rest of the band come in heavy to set up the next couple of alt-rock/punk killers. “Wyatt’s Song(Your Name) takes its lead from the closing refrains of the opener and kicks it up a notch with a snappy drum beat, great airy riffs and a massive chorus that is so infectious it’s unreal, it’s a seriously catchy track that flow nicely into “Oldest Daughter”, another crushing track that rocks, a thumping beat backed up with galloping riffs and a monster bass line, simply brilliant. There is a more mature feel to this album than previous ones and they have added a few more strings to their bow in the shape of songs like “Summer Clothes” and “Laura & The Beehive” which are stripped-back tracks, the former is a soft lilting affair with every instrument subdued to allow Campbell shine while “Laura & The Beehive” is a stunning track that completely unplugs and again allows Campbell to show the strength of his vocals over a very mellow soundtrack.

These songs mesh so well with the other heavier and faster tracks giving a nice consistent flow especially when they are offset against the likes of the big-hitting “The Paris Of Nowhere”, as anthemic as you get with a massive chorus’ and a kicking beat, and the moody heavy stylings of “Songs About Death.” The second half of the album has some real gems in the shape of “Lost In The Light”, an angsty rager that has a massive drum and bass beat and a rhythm that is just amazing, and “Low Tides” which is a real throwback to some of the earlier stuff, a pop punkster with Campbell roaring his way through the song, an uptempo beat, sharp riffs and a classy solo thrown in at the backend of the track, what more can you ask for. The track of the album in my opinion is “Old Friends Like Lost Teeth”, it’s like all roads lead here as the maturity of the band musically has been morphed with their earlier stylings to offer up a sonically perfectly crafted song with each member playing their part to the utmost, from the crashing drums to the killer riffs and interplay between Campbell, bassist Martin and guitarist Brasch on vocals is incredible. The album closes with “You’re The Reason I Don’t Want The World To End” a track that opens gently with just a synth and vocals that builds to a crescendo of drums, bass and guitars with Campbell giving it his all, a colossal track 

Review: Conor


1. Doors I Painted Shut
2. Wyatt’s Song (Your Name)
3. Oldest Daughter
4. Cardinals II
5. The Paris of Nowhere
6. Summer Clothes
7. Lost in the Lights
8. Songs About Death
9. Low Tide
10. Laura & the Beehive
11. Old Friends Like Lost Teeth
12. You’re the Reason I Don’t Want the World to End




06 BOURNEMOUTH The Old Fire Station – SOLD OUT
08 LONDON Electric Ballroom
09 BIRMINGHAM o2 Academy 2
10 SOUTHAMPTON Engine Rooms
13 MANCHESTER Academy 2
14 GLASGOW St Luke’s
15 LEEDS Stylus




The Wonder Years are:

Dan Campbell Vocals

Matt Brasch Rhythm guitar/backing vocals

Casey Cavaliere Lead guitar/acoustic/backing vocals

Mike Kennedy Drums

Josh Martin Bass/backing vocals

Nick Steinborn Keyboard/piano/backing vocals