Metallic hardcore band Simulakra throw down on new single “Follow The Flies”

Metallic hardcore band Simulakra 
throw down on new single “Follow The Flies”

New album The Infection Spreads out May 24th via DAZE

Photo Credit: Ashley Simpson

STREAM: “Follow The Flies”
Bandcamp | Spotify

“To put it simply, this band is incredibly heavy, channeling the dark, muscular, chuggy sound of bands like Jesus Piece, Judiciary and Division of Mind” – Revolver

“Anyone with an ear for metal-tinged hardcore will like what Delaware bruisers Simulakra are putting down on their new LP, The Infection Spreads.” – Decibel

“ominous and bone-crushing” – BrooklynVegan

Today, Delaware-based metallic hardcore band Simulakra have shared “Follow The Flies,” the second single off their upcoming album The Infection Spreads, set for release May 24th on DAZE. The track goes hard out the gate with pummeling guitars, rapid drums, and aggressive dual vocals featuring Tyler Mullen of Year of the Knife. Lyrically, “The track is a story of someone finding their dead relative a little too late and their remains are being tainted by flies.” says lead vocalist Dom Pabon. The Infection Spreads is available for pre-order now through DAZE. The band have also announced they will be playing This Is Hardcore Festival in Philadelphia, PA on July 9th with Hatebreed, Madball, All Out War and more.

Formed in 2018, Simulkara’s members boast a heady repertoire, also playing in bands like Foreign Hands, Vicious Embrace and Gridiron to name a few. The lineup is made up of Dom Pabon (vocals), Xavier Wilson (guitar), Jack Beatson (guitar), Tyler Norris (bass), and Tyler B (drums). Coming out the gate with a three song demo, the band began to grab attention with their 2019 EP, Tales from the Fevered Subconscious, leading them to play festivals like FYA and LDB. On their upcoming debut LP, The Infection Spreads, the band worked with producer and mixer Wyatt Oberholzer (Chemical Fix) and the vocals were tracked by Brandon Watkins (Year of the Knife). Not only is the album the band’s most collaborative effort, but also their most experimental, as the songs thrive off the metallic hardcore sound they put forth on past releases while also incorporating more death metal-leaning elements and even tapping into grindcore at moments. The Infection Spreads is aggressive and morbid, spanning across ten invigorating songs centered around a story of disease, death, and government control.

Expanding on the concept of the album Pabon says:
“The record has an overall theme of sickness and plague. It essentially tells the story of a government telling the mass population that they have things under control when that’s not the case, and it’s only getting worse and worse. These ideas tie into everything surrounding the record, from the art to the emergency broadcast trailer, to the clips of hospitals, biological weapons, and general corruption in the music video.”

The Infection Spreads Tracklist:
1. Eliminate
2. Terror Tactics
3. Heretic
4. As It Rots
5. Fading Away
6. Neurosis
7. Fury
8. Mankind Is A Disease
9. Who’s To Blame
10. Follow The Flies