Æon Spoke (ft. Paul Masvidal) Reissues Debut Album

Æon Spoke (ft. Paul Masvidal) Reissues Debut Album

Post rock band Æon Spoke is now releasing their debut album digitally! A vinyl counterpart will be released at a later date by Season of Mist – more info to be revealed soon! In the meantime, the record can be streamed and downloaded exclusively via Bandcamp at THIS LOCATION.

In conjunction, the band is now sharing a music video for the song “Emmanuel.” “Emmanuel” is the song highlighted at a crucial, dramatic moment in the remarkable film ‘What the Bleep Do We Know?’ starring Marlee Matlin, and contains interviews with Joe Dispenza, John Hagelin among many other notable thinkers. The film was a smash hit in the states, and the DVD release sold over a million units, which included a special edit of the “Emmanuel” video, featuring scenes from the film along with the band performing. The song and video can be found at THIS LOCATION.

“I think these are some of the best songs I’ve ever written,” says guitarist Paul Masvidal of post-rock band ÆON SPOKE, who formed after CYNIC‘s first breakup in 2004. Masvidal is a founding member of progressive metal pioneers and the highly influential Season of Mist group, CYNIC, and was also a member of the legendary band, DEATH on their best-selling and seminal record, Human. Rolling Stone magazine listed the album as one of the greatest metal albums of all time.

ÆON SPOKE’s album contains three bonus songs from the original independently released album ‘Above the Buried Cry’ and ten tracks from SPV Records original 2007 release. Masvidal continues, “I took this record offline after Sean Reinert died. It was too much for me in the wake of everything that happened and I felt too raw to keep the music out there. I needed to bring it closer to home as one of the precious things we shared when we first got back together.”

“Lyrically the record explores the depths of spiritual isolation that underlies the human condition,” explains lead singer and lyricist Paul Masvidal. Paul had worked as a caretaker for the dying while writing the songs for this record, doing music therapy for transplant patients and other critically ill people. “I came to find out what was most important about living through working with the dying.”

ÆON SPOKE, “Emmanual”
The album features guest appearances by:
Rex Brown (Pantera, Down, Cavalera Conspiracy)
Paul Hepker, Academy Award winning film and TV composer (Tsotsi)
R.Walt Vincent (Cynic, Liz Phair, James Blunt, Pete Yorn)
Evan Slamka (Marjorie Fair)
Chris Tristram (House of Lords, Marjorie Fair)
Chris Kringel (Cynic, Portal)

The thirteen track ÆON SPOKE album was mixed by 3X Grammy winning Warren Riker (Cynic, Down, Cathedral, Crowbar, C.O.C, Lauryn Hill, Santana, Stephen Marley, Michael Jackson, Sublime) and bonus tracks mixes by John Hiler (Cynic, Hedwig & the Angry Inch, Gliss, Slayer, Danzig) and was re-mastered by Jamie King (Between the Buried and Me, Canvas Solaris, Trioscapes).

“Beautiful, exquisite, destined for greatness”- Janice Long, BBC Radio

“Superior songwriting, and thoroughly classy and immaculate”- Unpeeled Magazine

“Absolutely fantastic, haunting and lovely”- Paul Ross, Virgin Radio

“The album’s strength lies in the band’s ability to excavate beauty from pain, hope from despair, and also to remind everyone that life?s failures and successes are memorial and precious and go beyond mortality.” – Michael Cassano, Buzz Music 

1. Cavalry of Woe (03:58)
2. No Answers (03:37)
3. Emmanuel (04:30)
4. The Fisher Tale (05:21)
5. Silence (04:26)
6. Face the Wind (04:30)
7. Yellowman (03:46)
8. Pablo at the Park (05:10)
9. For Good (04:09)
10. Suicide Boy (03:30)
11. Sand & Foam (03:20)
12. Grace (05:27)
13. Nothing (06:01)
Photo by Ekaterina Gorbacheva

Recording Lineup:
Paul Masvidal – vocals, guitars, keys
Sean Reinert – drums, percussion, keys
Evo – guitars, effects
Evan Slamka – vocals
Chris Tristram – bass
R. Walt Vincent – bass, vocals
Rex Brown – bass
Chris Kringel – bass
Paul Hepker – piano

Mixing: Warren Riker – tracks (1-5,7,8,11-13)
Mixing: John Hiler – tacks (6,9,10)

Mastering: Jamie King

Engineering: John Hiler, Travis Huff, Jeff Sudakin

Album art: Zu

Graphics: Mike Eller