Heilung // Drif // Album Review


Since 2015, Heilung has been at the forefront of the melodic and ritualistic scene. Having released their debut album Ofnir in 2015, the impact was immediate and their debut live appearance at Castlefest in 2017 has become unanimous with the magic that the band create and has led to the recording of that show being watched by tens of millions of people.

Futha was the follow-up release in 2019 and immediately troubled the heights of the Heatseekers Chart and Billboard World Music Chart. This popularity saw the music being utilised on soundtracks for the likes of Game of Thrones and Vikings as well as video games.

Focussing on the time that the pandemic allowed the band, the work began on album number 3, and here we have Drif.

Pythagoras believed that the number 3 was a divine number around things such as Birth, Life and Death and the wider, start beginning and end. Also, in the case of Heilung, the band have three composers. One of those composers, Kai Uwe Faust states that all the tracks on this album have their own stories as they explore civilisations outside of Europe.

So, what does album number 3 have in store?

Firstly, it is a 9-track album which spans just shy of an hour, with tracks ranging from around 3 minutes to over 13 minutes.

As the album begins, you are immediately welcomed by the throat vocals providing so real depth to the sound as the chanting continues, with solely the sound of a drum initially until other traditional instruments are introduced.

This haunting sound is also incredibly comforting and then when the female vocal begins to be included, the hypnotic effects truly take hold.

These effects certainly are here to stay and even when the pace may get a little quicker, the fact that you are completely captivated by the music is something to be behold. Whilst I cannot understand the language that is used in the lyrical content, the music and the way that the vocals are delivered take you on a quite astonishing journey. The depth to each track is something incredible and shows just how talented and committed to what they do that Heilung are.

There are a couple of tracks that are narrative and whilst the native tongue is not one that I am familiar with, the sound effects that accompany those words help to paint the picture.

Drif is a captivating and brilliant as the minimal used to the maximum effect resulting in something that truly must be heard to appreciate the stunning composure and incredible journey that Heilung take you on.

Ed Ford

Drif will be released Friday 19th August 2022 via Season of Mist

Pre-sales: https://redirect.season-of-mist.com/HeilungDrif

Track list

  1. Asja (5:17)
    2. Anoana (4:57)
    3. Tenet (13:05)
    4. Urbani (2:55)
    5. Keltentrauer (8:26)
    6. Nesso (7:54)
    7. Buslas Bann (5:03)
    8. Nikkal (3:04)
    9. Marduk (8:34)
    Total: 59:15


Recording studio: Lava Studios Copenhagen
Producer / sound engineer: Christopher Juul
Mix/Master: Lava Studios Copenhagen, Christopher Juul
Recording line-up: Kai Uwe Faust, Christopher Juul and Maria Franz

Guest musicians:
– Annicke Shireen, Emilie Lorentzen, Mira Ceti, on track: 1, 2, 3 and 8
– Jacob Hee Lund and Nicolas Schipper on track: 1, 2, 3 and 7
– Ruben Terlouw, Pan Bartkowiak, Marijn Sies, Gwydion Zomer, Isabella Streich, Martin Skou, Samiye van Rossum, Nadia Kalamieiets, Edward Boyter, Nina Cornelia Schilp, Mitchell Bosch, Gwydion Zomer and Katalin Papp on track: 2, 4 and 5
– Vilja Christine Agger, Ea Christine Agger and Michael Berberian on track: 3