Danko Jones // Electric Sounds // Album Review


Danko Jones kick ass and that’s a simple fact, they set something primal off inside you when you hear them for the first time, it’s raw, it’s edgy but most importantly its balls out rock n roll and it’s good fun.

The 15th of September sees the release of album number eleven, “Electric Sound”; sticking firmly to the adage of “If it ain’t broke don’t fix it”, they have once again smashed it out of the park. Starting out with “Guess Who’s Back” a roaring statement of intent that smashes you right in the face with killer riffs, thunderous drums and a booming bass, this is Danko Jones at their very best, pure unabashed rock. “Good Time” keeps things motoring with a humming bass line and gnarly riffs; a thumping drum beat helps keep the track tearing along, This one is bursting with attitude and it rocks. The title track “Electric Sounds” is intensity personified, between gritty riffs, frenetic drumming, a tasty solo and kicking bass you have a fucking amazing song, if this doesn’t get you worked up you have something wrong with you. “Get High” changes it up slightly with a more pop punky sound, There is still the same power but just at a lighter more radio-friendly sound, this one will grow on you.

A kicking beat reigns supreme on “Stiff Competition” The combination of the buzzing bass and drums will shake your foundations while Danko’s heavy riffs will blow your mind as always but there seems to be an extra level of stank on these ones and the accompanying solo puts the cherry on top. “She’s My Baby” is a punk rocker that is one hundred miles an hour, catchy as fuck with a killer hook that will have you stomping your feet and banging your head. The rockabilly stylings on “Eye For An Eye” are very Volbeatesque but with a punk twist that keeps the pace frenetic, The infectious rhythm on this will blow your mind, this is an earworm if ever there was. “I Like It” slows it down a little, a funky groove permeates the track from the off and what’s lacking in pace is more than made up for with power; cutting riffs and a pounding drum beat set this one off big-time, another killer track. “Let’s Make Out”  is Danko Jones’ idea of a love song!! A big arena-sounding track that is packed with gnarly riffs and a mega bass and drum beat that has a great funky kick to it, Throw in a cool solo from Danko just to top it off, one of the best songs on the album. “What Goes Around” kicks the tempo up about ten notches; a punk rocker built off a pulsating drum beat with gritty riffs and a heavy bass line to back it up, packed with attitude and a little heavier than most tracks on the album, my personal favourite.

The album closes with “Shake Your City” and you’ve guessed it they are literally going to do what it says on the tin, shake the living shit out of you, no holding back as they take it to another level with crashing drums,a rumbling bass line and crunching riffs, this is the only way these guys know how to play, fast and hard, what a way to finish the album.  

There is something about these guys that no matter what they do they manage to hit the spot each and every time and it’s fucking awesome.


“Electric Sounds” is out on the 15th of September Via AFM Records


Review: Conor 


Electric Sounds track listing:

01. Guess Who’s Back

02. Good Time

03. Electric Sounds

04. Get High?

05. Stiff Competition

06. She’s My Baby

07. Eye For An Eye

08. I Like It

09. Let’s Make Out

10. What Goes Around

11. Shake Your City

DANKO JONES return for a clutch of UK headline dates in December 2023, as part of a wider European trek. Armed with this collection of brand new bangers, DANKO JONES are on a renewed mission to rock the living shit-lights out of anyone and everyone that wants to join the party.

The headline dates line-up as follows:

Tue 12th Dec – BRISTOL Thekla

Wed 13th Dec – GLASGOW King Tuts

Thu 14th Dec – NOTTINGHAM Rescue Rooms

Fri 15th Dec – MANCHESTER Rebellion

Sat 16th Dec – LONDON Garage

Special guests for the dates will be US punk squad Radkey. For all ticketing links and more information, visit: https://www.dankojones.com/tour/.

In addition, DANKO JONES are confirmed as main support on Sunday 3rd December at the rifftastic extravaganza that is Planet Rockstock, taking place in Trecco Bay, South Wales and marking its10th anniversary this year. Tickets for that event are on sale now.


Formed in Toronto, Canada in 1996, DANKO JONES have seen and done just about everything over the last quarter of a century. Powered by a DIY punk rock spirit, and inspired by the good, great, and grotesque of electrified rock ‘n’ roll, they have steadily built a colossal international fan base and become one of the most acclaimed live bands around, embraced by everyone from mainstream radio-rock fans to diehard metalheads. Along the way, they have released ten widely praised studio albums, generating a peerless repertoire of fists-in-the-air crowd-pleasers into the bargain.

From the spiky blues of 2002’s Born A Lion and the crazed power-pop of its follow-up We Sweat Blood (2003), to the priapic perfection of 2010’s Below The Belt, the band’s knack for hitting rock’s sweet spot has never wavered. Over the last decade, DANKO JONES have visibly moved up a few gears. Since frontman Danko and bassist JC joined forced with drummer Rich Knox, the band’s creative fire has blazed more brightly than ever. A succession of all-killer, no-filler albums – Fire Music, Wild Cat, A Rock Supreme, Power Trio – has led to even more gung-ho touring and unapologetic service to the rock cause, with their live chops cleaved razor sharp on stints with Guns N Roses, Motörhead, and Volbeat as well as opening up for icons like The Rolling Stones and Ozzy Osbourne. The UK bore early witness to what’s forthcoming with a brief visit in early 2023 alongside rock disciples Black Stone Cherry and The Darkness.

Now, with the release of their blistering eleventh album Electric Sounds set for September 15th, 2023, DANKO JONES are poised to reaffirm exactly why they’re so beloved in the global rock community all over again.

DANKO JONES is: Danko Jones – Vocals/Guitar, John Calabrese – Bass, and Rich Knox – Drums.



Facebook  Twitter  Instagram  TikTok