Crippled Black Phoenix // Banefyre // Album Review


Created in 2004 by multi-instrumentalist and songwriter Justin Greaves, Crippled Black Phoenix are now 12 studio albums, 6 mini-albums and a number of compilations throughout their career, giving a voice to those without one.

The 13-track album spans approximately 100 minutes and after a curious introduction, the album starts with interesting and thought-provoking narration. This is that voice that many either don’t have or don’t know how to use and right from the off, Crippled Black Phoenix use its platform.

The music then beings a purposeful and hypnotising tone and pace before a haunting vocal that is provided by Belinda Kordic. It is a voice that could serenade or take control of your brain, depending on your mood. It is simply stunning.

The music that accompanies this beautiful vocal has so many layers, its composition is complex and engaging. You can hear so many different things in each song that by the time you reach the end of the album you know that you will have missed so much and will keep pushing the play button.

As the album progresses, you feel as if you are taking part in a vivid journey that takes so many twists and turns that you are never comfortable. The constant wondering of which instrument, pace or tone is coming next keeps you on your toes throughout as this Dark Rock album meanders across the soundscape.

Banefyre is like nothing else that you are likely to hear this year as it weaves back and forth with a plethora of instruments, some of which are listed include Monochord, Trumpet and a saw. What you do know is that the inclusion and placement of each instrument is purposefully there and adds to the experience of this masterpiece.

There is no doubt the quality and detail that has gone into this album by Crippled Black Phoenix and it captivates you from start to finish. It takes something very special to be able to make tracks that cover such an expanse of time and keep you wanting more, it truly is an art that they have mastered.

If you are a fan of in depth and mesmerising music then this is genuinely for you. There is so much going on here that it becomes more rewarding the more time you invest. So clear your schedule and press play.

Ed Ford

Banefyre will be released Friday September 9th via Season of Mist.


1. Intro/Incantation For The Different (2:49)
2. Wyches And Basterdz (4:57)
3. Ghostland (5:43)
4. The Reckoning (6:49)
5. Bonefire (4:36)
6. Rose Of Jericho (13:47)
7. Blackout77 (7:37)
8. Down The Rabbit Hole (10:32)
9. Everything Is Beautiful But Us (4:36)
10. The Pilgrim (6:19)
11. I’m OK, Just Not Alright (10:05)
12. The Scene Is A False Prophet (15:13)
13. No Regrets (4:30)

Justin Greaves : Guitars, Drums, Bass, Samples, Saw
Belinda Kordic : Vocals, Percussions
Helen Stanley : Grand Piano, Synthesisers, Monochord, Trumpet
Andy Taylor : Guitar, Baritone Guitar, 12 String Guitar
Joel Segerstedt: Vocals, Guitar

Recorded at Chapel Studio, Lincolnshire, November 2020 & April 2021.
Engineered by Pieter Rietkerk
Additional vocal sessions recorded at:
Kapsylen Studio, Stockholm – Engineered by Jörgen Jugglo Wall.
Monolith Studio – Engineered by Tomas Asklund
Churchstreet Studio, Bergen – Engineered by Rene Misje
Mixed live by Kurt Ballou at God City Studio
Mastered by Magnus Lindberg
Produced by Justin Greaves

Artwork: Original paintings created for this album by Lucy Marshall
Layout master: Benedikt Demmer