She Burns Red // Out Of Darkness // Album Review


If you’ve been at any of the smaller festivals this year then there’s a chance that you’ve seen rising stars She Burns Red either perform or just attend (the guys do seem to be everywhere at the moment!). They are now ready to release their debut full-length album, ‘Out Of Darkness’ thanks to the help of their fans through a Kickstarter event which smashed their original goal. With a sold-out album launch just last week, many fans have been patiently waiting to hear the whole album.

Heading straight into things with “Touch”, the fast and heavy beats, grab you in and don’t let go for the album duration. While full of driving and energetic riffs, there is also a melodic feel that works perfectly for both Bassist James McCulloch and Guitarist Andy Moore’s vocals as they switch up taking lead vocals throughout. Lyrically, the album digs deep and touches on the experiences both founding members McCulloch and Moore have been through the last few years in such an honest way that it also touches the listener to reflect on their own feelings and experiences. All of this is backed by an intensity and rawness to their sound from the powerful beats to the soaring riffs and melodies. For those who have been following the band and keeping up with their single releases, the rest of the full album elevates from everything we have heard so far and drives home the passion that the band clearly has for their music. From the deep and more soulful tracks such as “Run” and “Crosshairs” to the faster and harder tracks like “Rise and Fall” and “Stronger”, the band covers every base to provide an album journey that stands out on its own.

This debut album has certainly been worth waiting for as from start to finish there isn’t a single filler track as each one tells its own story. Whether its love and loss or overcoming struggles, the band have perfectly encompassed those feelings in both the lyrics and the music that completes this album. The success that the band has seen so far is only bound to double with this release as we see more of what they are capable of. With sold-out shows on tour with South of Salem later this year along with already confirmed festival appearances next year, She Burns Red are on an upward trajectory which is backed by this incredible new album.

‘Out Of Darkness’ is released 15th September 2023.


Review: Emmie Ellis


Album Tracklist:

1. Touch
2. Rise and Fall
3. Killing Time
4. Crosshairs
5. Heavy is the Head
6. Run
7. Stronger
8. Crack the Sky
9. Out of Darkness

Tour Dates:

9th Sept – (ABOUT TO SELL OUT) GLASGOW, Audio (album launch show)
15 Sept – WOLVERHAMPTON, Giffard Arms
30 Sept – EDINBURGH, Rockin for Tots Festival

On tour supporting  South of Salem

26 Oct – (SOLD OUT) LONDON, The Black Heart
27 Oct – TUNBRIDGE WELLS, The Forum
29 Oct – (SOLD OUT) BRISTOL, The Exchange
30 Oct – (SOLD OUT) GLASGOW, Attic
31 Oct – NEWCASTLE, Think Tank
01 Nov – MILTON KEYNES, Craufurd Arms
02 Nov – MANCHESTER, Rebellion
03 Nov – (SOLD OUT) WOLVERHAMPTON, KK’s Steelmill

21 Oct – SWANSEA, Station 18 Festival
11 Nov – GRIMSBY, Rockmantic
27 Jan – WOLVERHAMPTON, Giffard Arms
09 Feb – CARLISLE, Rockmantic (headline slot)
May 2024 – LINCOLNSHIRE SHOWGROUND, Call Of The Wild Festival

She Burns Red is:

Andy Moore – Vocals/Guitar
James McCulloch – Vocals/Bass Guitar
Naz Scanferlato – Guitar
Scott Hanlon – Drums

Connect with She Burns Red:

. Official Website:
. Facebook:
. Instagram:
. Spotify:
. YouTube:
. Twitter: