NATE BERGMAN shares “Wish I Was”, confirmed for 2000Trees festival





NATE BERGMAN, the Nashville by way of D.C. singer-songwriter, is a performer with a voice that transcends generations. His powerful vocals create a timeless sound that weaves through the rich tapestry of Nashville’s musical heritage. Bergman’s unique ability to infuse elements of Country, Rock, Folk, and Soul results in a sound that resonates with an increasingly diverse audience.

Today he announces a slot at 2000Trees festival and shares melancholic new single “Wish I Was” along with its retro gaming-inspired official video. Handling vocals and guitar himself, the track also features stellar musicians Jack Lawrence (The Raconteurs) on bass, Megan Coleman (Jenny Lewis) on drums, and Jo Schornikow (Phosphorescent) on Hammond B3 and piano.

Nate elaborates, “I have been looking forward for months to announce that I will be making my UK festival debut at 2000Trees this year. To celebrate this we have two new songs coming out starting with “Wish I Was” today. This is an independent release and it was tracked at Bomb Shelter Studio in Nashville, TN and produced by Andrija Tokic (Alabama Shakes, Margo Price). It was recorded all live to 2-inch tape – there were absolutely no computers used in the recording process! I can’t wait to come play these songs live with Amigo The Devil on tour!”

Watch the video here or by clicking below. Get the track here.

Nate Bergman - I Wish I Was

First introduced to UK audiences as the frontman of reggae-influenced rock act LIONIZE, in recent years NATE BERGMAN has trailblazed a new path as an solo artist embracing Americana. Anchored in Nashville’s vibrant music scene, Bergman’s journey began with a passion for storytelling through song. His live performances are a testament to his exceptional talent, marked by a magnetic stage presence that captivates audiences wherever he sings.

The renowned musician makes a triumphant return to the UK and Ireland this July to perform at the very popular 2000Trees Festival and as special guest to fast rising US star AMIGO THE DEVIL.

Nate enthuses, “It is with great excitement that I share the news of joining one of the greatest songwriters and performers of our generation and great friends, Amigo The Devil, for a UK tour this July. Danny’s songwriting, the newest album, and the band’s captivating live show have been a constant source of inspiration and I can’t wait to be a part of the experience with you all.”

Tickets are on sale now for the following dates with Amigo The Devil:

Thu 11th Jul – BRIGHTON Concorde 2

Fri 12th Jul – MANCHESTER Gorilla

Mon 15th Jul – LEEDS Wardrobe

Tue 16th Jul – GLASGOW Slay

Wed 17th Jul – BIRMINGHAM Asylum

Thu 18th Jul – LONDON O2 Academy Islington

Sun 21st Jul – CORK Cyprus Avenue

Mon 22nd Jul – DUBLIN Whelan’s

You can catch NATE BERGMAN at 2000Trees Festival in Cheltenham on Saturday 13th July.

“A true stand out on any bill”, hailed Brooklyn Vegan. Whether with an acoustic guitar or a full band, Bergman’s performances are a visceral experience.

Wish I Was” comes hot on the heels of a live cut of standalone single “War On The Working Class.” Recorded in Anaheim, California in 2023, stream that version on Spotify here. Just last month, NATE BERGMAN shared new track and video “Back To Nashville“, which was promptly voted ‘Track Of The Week’ by Classic Rock readers, as well as landing a prime slot on Planet Rock Radio’s Stateside Playlist. Nate revealed, “‘Back to Nashville’ is a deeply personal story about starting over in the face of a great loss. Transitioning pain into strength and moving forward through pain and adversity. Everyone has a place like Nashville even if it’s a refuge in your own mind.” Fans can also watch a video for emotive song, “If I Was,” shared in October 2023.

Debut solo record Metaphysical Change, a blues-steeped, country-inflected album released via Velocity Records in 2022, is a profound exploration of transformation and self-discovery. Enriched by collaborations with musicians like Brit Turner (Blackberry Smoke), Frank Iero (My Chemical Romance), and Per Wiberg (Opeth) amongst noted others, Bergman’s soul-stirring melodies and poignant lyrics guide listeners on an introspective journey through the human experience. Listen on Spotify here.

“Bergman is a curly haired Jewish kid who sounds like Sam Cooke after 400 cigarettes…

it might just be the rock n roll debut of the year.” – Ghettoblaster


Metaphysical Change tracklisting:

1. Lords Of Water, Lords Of Grain

2. Just Like Dylan Said

3. Livin’ On The Line

4. Sweet Maria

5. Losers Game

6. Ode To Manchester

7. Goodbye Munich

8. Into My Arms

9. Highway Friend

10. Dark Horse, Sweet Horse

11. America, It’s Not You, It’s Me

12. Repeats Until You Die

13. Amaryllis


Nate Bergman is a critically acclaimed musician known for his soulful voice and captivating stage presence. First with reggae-influenced rock act Lionize, and now as a solo artist, Nate delights audiences with his unique blend of blues, rock, country, and soul. He continues to push the boundaries of music with each new release, earning praise from fans and critics alike.

A standout figure in Nashville’s thriving music scene, Bergman has also navigated highways across the globe supporting legendary artists like Anthony Green, LS Dunes, My Chemical Romance, Clutch, Valerie June, Will Hoge, The War and Treaty, Thursday, Cursive, and Arlo McKinley.


X  Instagram  Facebook  YouTube  Web