Avatar // Dance Devil Dance // Album Review


AVATAR’s latest album Dance Devil Dance is a triumphant masterpiece that showcases the Swedish modern rock and metal band’s unrivalled musicianship and dedication to their craft. Released on February 17th, 2023, the album consists of eleven tracks that push the boundaries of the modern rock and metal genres.

Led by the hauntingly powerful vocals of Johannes Eckerström, AVATAR’s signature blend of theatricality and heaviness is on full display throughout Dance Devil Dance. From the opening track “Dance Devil Dance” to the album’s closing moments, the band delivers an unforgettable listening experience that will leave fans wanting more.

The album’s lead single, “Valley Of Disease,” is a standout track that perfectly encapsulates what makes AVATAR so special. The song’s infectious chorus is backed by heavy riffs and pounding drums, creating a dynamic sound that is both heavy and melodic. “Chimp Mosh Pit” is another standout track that features Eckerström’s powerful vocals and a driving rhythm section that builds to a stunning crescendo.

One of the most impressive things about Dance Devil Dance is the band’s ability to seamlessly blend different musical genres. The album features elements of rock, metal, and even pop, all of which are expertly woven together to create a sound that is uniquely AVATAR. The band’s versatility is on full display on tracks like “Do You Feel In Control” which features a soaring chorus and intricate guitar work, and “Clouds Dipped In Chrome,” a gnarly nail-biter of a track.

Throughout the album, AVATAR’s musicianship is top-notch. Guitarists Jonas Jarlsby and Tim Öhrström deliver a barrage of heavy riffs and intricate solos that perfectly complement each other. Meanwhile, Henrik Sandelin’s bass lines provide a solid foundation for the songs, and drummer John Alfredsson’s killer precision playing keeps the album moving at a breakneck pace.

The production of Dance Devil Dance is also top-notch, with each instrument and element given its own space to shine. The album is expertly mixed and mastered, ensuring that every detail can be heard clearly. Whether listening on headphones or through a bitchin’ sound system, the album sounds incredible. One of my favourite tracks on the album was its closer, the epic “Violence No Matter What” (Duet w/ Lzzy Hale) is just a thing of beauty, the pairing of Eckerström and Hale just is majestic.

In terms of the modern rock and metal genres, AVATAR occupies a unique space. They are not afraid to experiment with different musical styles, but they also stay true to their roots as heavy metal band. The band’s theatricality and use of elaborate costumes and makeup may turn some listeners off, but it adds an extra layer of depth to the music and makes for a truly unforgettable live experience.

Overall, Dance Devil Dance is a testament to AVATAR’s dedication to its craft and its willingness to push the boundaries of what is possible in modern rock and metal. The album is a must-listen for fans of the genre, and a perfect introduction for those who may be unfamiliar with the band’s work. It’s clear that AVATAR is not content to rest on its laurels, and Dance Devil Dance is a stunning example of what can be achieved when a group of talented musicians come together to create something truly special.



Dance Devil Dance
“Chimp Mosh Pit”
“Valley Of Disease”
“On The Beach”
“Do You Feel In Control”
“Gotta Wanna Riot”
“The Dirt I’m Buried In”
“Clouds Dipped In Chrome”
“Hazmat Suit”
“Violence No Matter What” (Duet w/ Lzzy Hale)



It arrives on February 17 via Black Waltz Records, distributed by Thirty Tigers. The epic masterwork is available for pre-order HERE.

The album will be released in multiple vinyl configurations. The configurations can be seen below.

Clouds Dipped in Chrome Super Deluxe Vinyl:
Includes: Metal O-Card with embossed Avatar emblem. 2 pocket silver board gatefold vinyl with platinum Dance Devil Dance vinyl. 24 page photo book. Autographed 5×7 Postcard.

Hazmat Suit Deluxe Vinyl:
Includes: Embossed Gatefold with 3 color A SIDE / B SIDE Dance Devil Dance vinyl, Five 11×11 Photo Prints of each band member w/lyrics, Autographed 5×7 Postcard.

Dance Devil Dance Standard Vinyl:
Includes: Embossed gatefold jacket with red opaque Dance Devil Dance vinyl, Five 11×11 Photo Prints of each band member.


Johannes Eckerström — Vocals
John Alfredsson — Drums
Jonas Jarlsby — Guitar
Henrik Sandelin — Bass
Tim Öhrström — Guitar

Thoughts of No Tomorrow (2007)
Schlacht (2007)
Avatar (2009)
Black Waltz (2012)
Hail the Apocalypse (2014)
Feathers & Flesh (2016)
Avatar Country (2018)
The King LIVE in Paris (2019)
Hunter Gatherer (2020)
“Going Hunting” (Single, 2021)
“So Sang the Hollow” (Single, 2021)
“Construction of Souls” (Single, 2021)
“Cruel and Unusual” (Single, 2021)