THE NEW ROSES // Sweet Poison // Album Review


The New Roses are back! After touring with world-famous artists like Scorpions, Saxon, Accept and Tremonti, the band are ready to release their fifth studio album, entitled ‘Sweet Poison’, via Napalm Records.

Heading straight into “My Kinda Crazy”, this is an opening track that pulls you in with its driving riffs and anthem-like feel. You’re instantly wanting to sing along and pump your fists in the air. The rest of the album keeps that feel-good vibe going which is reminiscent of those big 80s and 90s stadium rock bands. “Usual Suspects’ is the perfect example of that with more driving riffs and intricate guitar work on the solo. The backbeat has you tapping your foot and nodding your head as the whole track envelopes you. For any album to be great though there does need to be some classic ballads and The New Roses have nailed that on this album. “True Love” slows right down as an acoustic Love song allowing Timmy Roughs’ vocals to shine. “All I Ever Needed” and “The Veins of this Town” follow a much more traditional ballad style while being no less beautiful in their sentiments. This is an album where it’s difficult to choose a favourite track from the heavier “Warpaint” to the bluesy “Sweet Gloria” to the more traditional American rock with “1st time for Everything”, there really is something for everyone.

With four albums under their belt, The New Roses are showing that they still have a ton more writing and talent to show the world with this latest offering. Since listening for the first time, this album has been on repeat and I would defy anyone not to do the same. The album brings you hit after hit that will have you moving from the first track to the very last!


Review: Emmie Ellis


Sweet Poison arrives this Friday, Oct 21st courtesy of Napalm Records



1. My Kinda Crazy
2. Playing with Fire
3. All I Ever Needed
4. The Usual Suspects
5. Warpaint
6. Dead of Night
7. True Love
8. 1st Time for Everything 9. Sweet Gloria
10. The Lion in You
11. The Veins of this Town



20.10.22 DE – Bochum / Zeche
21.10.22 DE – Osnabrück / Rosenhof
22.10.22 DE – Aschaffenburg / Colos-Saal
27.10.22 DE – Nürnberg / Hirsch
28.10.22 DE – Berlin / Hole44
29.10.22 DE – Leipzig / Hellraiser
04.11.22 DE – Stuttgart / Im Wizemann
05.11.22 DE – München / Backstage Werk
11.11.22 AT – Wien / Szene
12.11.22 AT – Wörgl / Komma
18.11.22 DE – Köln / Kantine
19.11.22 DE – Wiesbaden / Schlachthof
25.11.22 DE – Hannover / Musikzentrum
26.11.22 DE – Hamburg / Markthalle
01.12.22 UK –  London / The Underworld
02.12.22 UK –  Cardiff / The Globe
03.12.22 UK –  Sheffield / Cooperation Winter Rocks

Timmy Rough – Leadvoc, Guitar
Dizzy Daniels – Guitar
Hardy – Bass
Urban Berz – Drums, Backing Vocals

Napalm Records

%d bloggers like this: