Second Spotlight Track from Willie Nelson’s New Studio Album, The Border, “Made In Texas” Available on All DSPs

Second Spotlight Track from Willie Nelson’s New Studio Album, The Border,

“Made In Texas” Available on All DSPs Today 

Watch The Lyric Video HERE

 The Track Arrives Just In Time For 91st Birthday and Stage Coach performance

Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment, has  released “Made In Texas,” the second track from Willie Nelson’s new studio album The Border today.

Penned by Shawn Camp and Monty Holmes, “Made In Texas” fits Nelson like a glove. It’s two and a half minutes of Western swing-infused fun, which states “In Lone Star beer and Stetson hats? And Ernest Tubb we trust,” adding the Willie-friendly line “You can always tell a Texan / Oh, but you can’t tell him much.”  The song’s release offers a great way to celebrate Willie’s birthday, as he was also made in Texas in 1933, with April 29th marking his 91st birthday. The last weekend of his 90th year also marks Nelson’s return to Stage Coach. Taking place in Indio, CA, Stage Coach finds Willie sharing the stage Saturday with Miranda Lambert, Post Malone, Leon Bridges and Charley Crockett.  Listen to “Made In Texas” on all DSPs today and you can watch the illustrated, cowboy-littered lyric video HERE.


In addition to “Made In Texas,” the album’s title track – Willie’s insightful interpretation of Rodney Crowell and Allen Shamblin’s “The Border” – is also available and The Border can be pre-ordered digitally, on CD or black vinyl now. Meanwhile Barnes & Noble will be offering an exclusive LP edition of The Border, pressed on orange vinyl and there will be an exclusive vinyl version offered on Willie’s D2C store that includes a 12” x 12” designed lyric book featuring the gorgeous album artwork with extensive listening notes by noted writer Peter Blackstock and photos by Pamela Springsteen. Stream the first two singles and find all versions available for pre-order HERE.

The Border (his 152nd album, according to Texas Monthly’s interactive All Willie Nelson Albums Ranked list) premieres 10 newly recorded Willie Nelson studio performances including four new Willie Nelson/Buddy Cannon compositions. In addition to the Camp & Holmes track “Made In Texas” and Crowell & Shamblin’s “The Border,” Nelson has continued his longstanding tradition of shining a light on country music’s finest songwriters, recording versions of compositions by Larry Cordle & Erin Enderlin (“I Wrote This Song For You”), Rodney Crowell & Will Jennings (“Many a Long and Lonesome Highway”), and Mike Reid (“Nobody Knows Me Like You”)

Produced by longtime musical collaborator Buddy Cannon, The Border showcases Willie Nelson (lead vocals, Trigger) accompanied by Mickey Raphael (harmonica), Bobby Terry (acoustic guitar, electric guitar, steel guitar), James Mitchell (electric guitar), Jim “Moose” Brown (Wurlitzer, B-3 organ, piano, synthesizer), Fred Eltringham (drums, percussion) and Barry Bales (upright bass); backing vocals are by Buddy Cannon, and Melonie Cannon. The Border features cover art depicting the Big Bend border area between Texas and Mexico.

Willie Nelson & Family will be on the road from June through September co-headlining the Outlaw Music Festival Tour 2024. With an all-star lineup featuring Willie, Bob Dylan, Robert Plant & Alison Krauss, John Mellencamp, Billy Strings and more, this year’s Outlaw Music Festival promises a once-in-a-lifetime epic musical experience.