LOWER 13 Release New EP – “Deception”

LOWER 13 Release New EP – Deception

Deception, the new EP from Cleveland-based melodic metal trio LOWER 13, is out now on digital streaming platforms.

The follow-up to 2021’s Embrace the Unknown (released by Germany’s Pure Steel Records), Deception features five tracks of prog-infused thrash highlighted by the band’s signature melodic vocals and hook-laden approach to songwriting.

Download and stream Deception at linktr.ee/lower13official

Watch the video for the EP’s first single, “The One to Blame” at youtube.com/@Lower13official

“The extremes within the band’s sound have pushed out a little more so the pummelling percussion and guitar work remains sharp but the vocals give it a richer texture. Overall this is one that will grow on you over multiple listens.”

– MetalNoise.net

“Lower 13 help progressive metal take stratospheric leaps forward with Deception… it’s a release that presents a sound that leaves a world of other progressive metal bands in the dust.” – Real Gone Reviews


1) More Time

2) Your Love’s a Curse

3) The One to Blame

4) Holding on to Misery

5) You Just Left Her

LOWER 13 was formed in Parma, Ohio in March 2006 and is comprised of Eric Kruger (drums), Sean Balog (bass, vocals), and Patrick Capretta (guitars, vocals). Lower 13 strives to carve their own identity in the metal scene, blending styles and pulling from their various influences. They create their own brand of metal laced with crushing riffs, grooves, and dual vocal harmonies.

“The playing here is so intensively intricate, it’s likely to draw comparisons to prog acts like Rush, and that’s a real testament to the band’s terrific musicianship.” – Jeff Niesel (Scene Magazine)

“Whether in concert or recorded, this band demonstrates why they have such a large following in the Greater Cleveland area. Now, the world just needs to discover this talented metal outfit.” – Matheson Kamin (rockandrollreport.com)

“The power trio have arrived… tackling a mixture of heavier, almost progressive/extreme elements against crushing rhythms, fluctuating tempos, and a vocal attack that can be smooth and radio-friendly one moment, then vicious in a melodic death/metalcore fashion the next.” – Matt Coe (DeadRhetoric.com)


Eric Kruger – drums

Sean Balog – bass/vocals

Patrick Capretta – guitars/vocals