Leper Colony // Leper Colony // Album Review


The debut album by the newly formed Death Metal band Leper Colony is about to start 2023 with something rather special.

This three-piece line up is comprised of Marc Grewe (ex-Morgoth & Insidious Disease), Rogga Johansson (Paganizer) and Jon Skäre (Consumption) have set out with the plan of having the draw of some of the best know Death Metal albums by the likes of Death and Massacre.

So, does this 9-track debut throw us back to the old school of Death Metal? Quite simply, too fucking right.

Opening with ‘The Human Paradox’ the classic sound hits you straight away, with a heavy slice of Old School Thrash thrown in as well. The riff fest is just beginning, so get used to stunning slices of string-based assault. By the end of the opening track, you know that you are in for something that is a shit load of fun but also a stunning window into the past.

The opening riff to ‘Perdition’s End’ is something that you may expect to hear from a now-retired band from the Big 4, before settling into just a solid slab of Death Metal. The guitars continue to wreak havoc throughout as the vocal growls and occasionally screams through the wall of blistering drums and laser-sharp guitar.

By the time you reach ‘Tar and Feathers’ you will be completely sold on this new band, that whilst not doing anything new, what they are doing is top drawer and will please fans of that Old School Death Sound and the Thrash scene.

For those who aren’t necessarily familiar with that sound and time in music history, maybe listening to this will help understand where bands got influence from in their sound and style.

There is no denying that this debut album is a cracking way to introduce yourself to the world and in many ways makes you want to go and listen to those key albums in the Death scene but also you don’t want to stop listening to this. Enjoy the struggle!

Leper Colony will hook you instantaneously and keep you hooked. If you want a heavy dose of Death to welcome in 2023, look no further than this. The bar has been set high for everyone else for the rest of the year and for the future of this band.

Leper Colony will be released Friday 13th January 2023 via Transcending Obscurity Records.

Ed Ford




  1. The Human Paradox 
    2. Perdition’s End 
    3. The Surgical Undeadvors 
    4. Tar and Feathers 
    5. Rapture Addict 
    6. Leper Colony 
    7. A Flow So Greatly Macabre 
    8. Flesh Crawl Demise 
    9. Gruesome End 








%d bloggers like this: