Introducing: State Of You and their raucous debut single ‘Run’

Introducing: State Of You and their raucous debut single ‘Run’:

Music video  |  Spotify  |  Apple Music



The new UK band, featuring ex-members of Polar, Tessa Jones, Hildamay, Seasonal and Outcry Collective, will release their self-titled debut EP 02 September via Silent Cult Recordings

With a shared desire to write straight-up rock ‘n’ roll songs with the purpose of expelling personal demons, and to provoke discussion around issues in the world today, State Of You have risen from the ashes of several much-loved underground UK bands. Their first ever single, the raucous, rousing ‘Run’, is out today via Silent Cult Recordings, along with its music video, shot by Aaran McKenzie. It’s a first taster of State of You’s self-titled debut EP, which will be released 02 September.

“’Run’ was the first song that we recorded with our producer Oz Craggs (of Feed The Rhino fame) at his Hidden Track Studios in Folkestone,” says vocalist Steve Sitkowski. “Ultimately, it’s about cancel culture and where we’ve gotten to as a society. People seem to thrive on tearing others down, even though nobody is perfect and we all have things we’ve done that we regret. It’s easy to be in a constant state of fear of saying or doing the “wrong” thing and being vilified online for it. The lyric “Fuck Everything And Run” refers back to that fear.” 

State Of You’s instant chemistry was apparent as soon as the five of them first convened in a practice space. Comprised of ex-members of Polar, Tessa Jones, Hildamay, Seasonal and Outcry Collective, the group only managed a handful of practices together before the pandemic hit. Instead of grinding to a halt, State Of You kept their momentum going by sending ideas to each other online and discussing them whilst simultaneously playing Call of Duty. Amassing a whopping 40 song ideas, inspired by such artists as Every Time I Die, The Bronx, Beartooth and Underoath, the band whittled them down to six complete tracks which they recorded with Craggs (once lockdowns had eased). This collection was to become State Of You’s self-titled debut EP and once UK label Silent Cult heard what the band were doing, they signed them immediately.

State Of You are looking forward to smashing the shit out of every stage they get on.

1. Lies
2. Run
3. Blood Party
4. The Perfect Storm
5. The Colour Blue
6. Reckoning

Rick Keenan – Bass
Ollie Jeffs – Guitar
Max O’Neil – Guitar
Nick Jones – Drums
Steve Sitkowski – Vocals

Facebook  |  Twitter  |  Instagram