Grindcore band See You Next Tuesday release first song in 14 years, “Hey Look, No Crying”

Grindcore band See You Next Tuesday release first song
in 14 years, “Hey Look, No Crying”

Announce Distractions LP set for release 
February 17th on Good Fight Music

Photo Credit: Lauren Slavik

“Hey Look, No Crying”

PRE-ORDER: Distractions

Today. Michigan grindcore band See You Next Tuesday have shared “Hey Look, No Crying,” the band’s first new music in 14 years. It will appear on their upcoming album, Distractions, set for release February 17th via Good Fight Music. “Hey Look, No Crying” fixates on the feeling of slowly moving towards your death, encompassing the sonic energy of descending into the afterlife. A fury of blast beats and distortion give way to experimental guitar riffs and growling vocals. The video, which premiered on MetalSucks, captures the moments of beauty and panic found in the song.

Speaking on the lyrics, vocalist Chris Fox expanded:

“It is more or less about looking back at your life and basically being in mourning for the moments of your life that you’ll never get to relive as you are ultimately aging, slowly moving towards your own death alone and becoming less and less relevant to the world. I struggle heavily with the idea of death and growing old and fixate on it a lot which I express a few times on this album. At times I am devastated by remembering and realizing the moments I should have cherished more at the time that they were happening. And then I get back to reality where I’m there by myself and separated by years from that moment.” 

Formed in 2004, See You Next Tuesday made their mark in the world of extreme metal with the release of their albums Parasite (2007) and Intervals (2008), both on Ferret Music. Going on hiatus in 2009 and then reuniting in 2015 for a few one off shows over the years, there were never any plans for the band to record new music. In late 2020, misfortune became inspiration for guitarist/multi-instrumentalist Drew Slavik, and suddenly he and vocalist Chris Fox were writing another album. Pushing forth on controlled chaos, the band has been able to evolve since their initial output and Distractions finds them delving into a new, modern grindcore sound. The thirteen songs on the record are full of fast and heavy guitars accompanied by an invigorating vocal performance from Fox. The true standout is in the drum work, provided by Slavik, displaying a maniacally bold use of blast beats that perfectly intertwine with his home-made samples. Distractions was recorded at Slavik’s home studio where he also handled production and mixing, and was mastered by Josh Schroeder (Lorna Shore, In Hearts Wake).

The band has also announced a string of shows in the midwest, dates below. Distractions is available for pre-order now through Good Fight Music.

See You Next Tuesday is Drew Slavik – Guitar, Chris Fox – Vocals, Rick Woods – Bass, James Watson – Drums

Album Artwork
Distractions Tracklist:
1. How Insensitive
2. What A Funny Girl You Used To Be
3. Hey Look, No Crying
4. Why Can’t You Behave
5. Glad To Be Unhappy
6. I’ll Never Be The Same
7. I’ll Never Smile Again
8. Day In The Life Of A Fool
9. Call Me Irresponsible
10. This Happy Madness
11. I Had The Craziest Dream
12. That’s What God Looks Like To Me
13. Strange MusicTour Dates:
12.2.22 – Columbus, OH @ Big Room Bar
12.3.22 – Indianapolis, IN @ Black Circle Brewery
1.13.23 – Chicago, IL @ Beat Kitchen
1.14.23 – Grand Rapids, MI @ Pyramid Scheme
1.15.23 – Detroit, MI @ Sanctuary