Austin Duo THE CAUGHTERY Announces Debut EP

Austin duo The Caughtery announces debut EP, mixed by Tim Palmer. Preview the lead track ‘Fragile’

FOR FANS OF: Heart, Led Zeppelin, Fleetwood Mac, Paramore, Grace Potter, Halestorm, The Pretty Reckless, Dorothy, Collective Soul
FCC clean
Gramophone photos by Dave Chudnov

Other photos by Stan Martin

Single pre-save / pre-order

“An impeccably arranged and produced backdrop. Tingle’s vocal versatility and soulfulness sit perfectly within a perfectly-balanced and finely-sculpted nest of sonic intensity” ~ Amplify Music Magazine

Austin-based rock duo The Caughtery present their debut single ‘Fragile’, the first taste of their debut eponymous EP. This contemporary rock offering, influenced by musical threads running from the 60s through 00s, presents a series of “musical paintings”, expressing the pressure and fragility of the human state over the last two years.

The Caughtery is Lisa Tingle and David Gayler, two musical soul-searchers born just 5 days apart and originally hailing from opposite coasts, somehow meeting in the middle. Both from musical families, Lisa and David’s shared diverse musical loves (rock, indie, fusion, jazz, blues and R&B) sparked a genuine connection, their mutual addiction for creating unique music ultimately moving their storytelling note by note.

Recorded by Lee Jackson at Studio71West near Austin, this EP was jointly produced by David Gayler and the legendary Tim Palmer (Robert Plant, Ozzy Osbourne, Tin Machine, The Mission, HIM, U2, Pearl Jam), who also mixed and contributes guitar on this debut single.

The Caughtery’s story dates back a few years, to 2020, when David called Lisa to record a song he knew fit her vibe. What started out as a one-off collaboration ultimately turned into a full EP of material under the name The Caughtery. On this debut EP, Lisa’s lyrics explore such themes as relationships, new and old, the passing of friends and the state of our world today.

This debut effort features drummer Tom Brechtlein, who brings a rich experience with him, having performed with Chick Corea, Kenny Loggins, Eric Johnson, Robben Ford, Al DiMeola, Jean-Luc Ponty and Rickie Lee Jones, among others. It also involves bass contributions by Brian Lippman and Ricky Phillips (of Styx and previously with Coverdale/Page, Bad English, The Babys, Ted Nugent, Angel).

Described as a “Female Robert Plant” with the power of Janis Joplin and the soul of Aretha Franklin, Lisa Tingle has received multiple awards over the past decade at the Austin Music Awards, including Female Vocalist of the Year, Band of the Year, Best Song, Musician of the Year, and Album of the Year. She has toured and performed with many legendary acts, such as Etta James, Stevie Ray Vaughan’s Double Trouble, Ray Benson (Asleep at the Wheel), Eric Johnson, Stephen Bruton, Monte Montgomery and Marcia Ball.

Having launched her music career in Los Angeles, Lisa gigged, recorded, and was also a session vocalist for writers at Almo-Irving Publishing (part of A&M Records), singing songs submitted to the likes of Tina Turner and Dolly Parton. Upon moving to Texas, she formed the rock band Black Pearl and landed a record deal with Capitol Records, her songs catching the attention of TV producers with placements on ‘Beverly Hills 90210’ and ‘Melrose Place’. She again began to work with publishing world, singing for TV and radio commercials, films and songwriters. She contributed to several soundtracks with Ray Benson, including Jean-Claude Van Damme’s ‘Universal Soldier’, followed by work on Sandra Bullock’s ‘Miss Congeniality’ and Robert Rodriguez’s ‘Spy Kids 3’. She has released six solo albums to wide acclaim and ample international airplay, including on Britain’s BBC Radio.

David Gayler is a multi-instrumentalist, producer, songwriter and studio owner based in Spicewood, Texas. Born in upstate New York, Gayler relocated to Texas in the mid-80s to attend college. Having started out on piano, he eventually transitioned to his beloved instruments – acoustic and electric guitar. A member of various bands throughout his musical career, he has opened for such notable artists as The Romantics, Charlie Sexton and Jerry Jeff Walker, in addition to being a member of the Party Band during MTVs journey down to Texas in the late 1980s

As of May 25, the ‘Fragile’ single will be released across digital platforms. The full self-titled EP will be released this coming summer.

01. 99 MPH
02. Lockey Came to Play
03. Fragile
04. Dog
05: The Uninvited

Written by David Gayler and Lisa Tingle
Produced by David Gayler and Tim Palmer
Recorded by Lee Jackson at Studio71West near Austin, Texas
Mixed by Tim Palmer
Mastered by James Bacon
Lisa Tingle – Vocals
Brian Lee – Backing Vocals
Ricky Phillips – Bass Guitar
David Gayler – Guitars, Piano and Keyboards
Tim Palmer – Additional Guitars
Tom Brechtlein – Drums
Cover artwork by McKenna Applewhite
ISRC no. QZES52200657

Keep up with The Caughtery
Website | Facebook | The Caughtery Twitter | Lisa Twitter Studio Instagram | YouTube

Keep up with Tim Palmer
Website | Instagram | Facebook | Twitter

Keep up with Shameless Promotion PR
Website Facebook | Twitter | Soundcloud | Instagram | Spotify