After Earth – Swedish Melodic Death Metal Outfit Reveal Video For New Track “Prometheus”

After Earth – Swedish Melodic Death Metal Outfit Reveal Video For New Track “Prometheus”

Swedish melodic death-metal newcomers After Earth recently revealed a music video for a brand new song of the band’s forthcoming debut album ‘The Rarity of Reason’, which is set to be released on August 18th.

Titled “Prometheus”, this video was produced by After Earth and J. Nyman Photography, and is now playing at this location.

“The Rarity of Reason” was produced, recorded and mixed by Robert Kukla at Obsidian Recording Studios, drums were recorded at Nordic Sound Lab, and it was later mastered by renowned producer Fredrik Nordström at Studio Fredman, and will available just in time for the band’s European tour supporting Swedish death metal band Mara.

After Earth was created in the fall of 2017 in Skövde, Västra Götaland, Sweden, but it was only in mid-2019 that the band found a stable line-up and crafted enough material to start playing live shows.

Then, the global pandemic forced them to cancel a few shows so they opted to record new songs instead,and in 2020 After Earth self-released their debut EP ‘Before It Awakes’, which was met with great critical acclaim.

The following two years were a bit turbulent for the band as they suffered some line-up changes, yet the Swedes still managed to release a single ‘From Age to Aeon’ in 2022, which was a heavier track clearly showing where After Earth was heading musically.

In early 2023, just a few weeks before the recordings of their debut album: ‘The Rarity of Reason’ started, After Earth suffered another setback when both guitarists decided to leave for various reasons. The remainder of the band (Marcus Rydstedt: vocals, Anton Vehkaperä: drums and guitars, Olof Öman: Bass and acoustic guitars) then spent two weeks together with producer and studio engineer Robert Kukla at Obsidian Recording Studios to work on the album. Anton Vehkaperä recorded the majority of electric guitars on the album (bar solos which were outsourced to Christoffer Nilsson) while Olof Öman recorded the acoustic parts as well as chords.
Drums were recorded at a later date by Anton Vehkaperä in Nordic Sound Lab. The album was mixed by Rob Kukla and then mastered by death metal studio legend Fredrik Nordström at Studio Fredman.

After Earth is:
Marcus Rydstedt (Vocals)
Anton Vehkaperä (Drums)
Olof Öman (Bass)
Marcelo Vargas Jofré (Guitars on Leave)
Jonathan Ahlin (Live guitarist)
Ludvig Andersson (Live guitarist)Links: