WITCH RIPPER premiere ‘Rusty Cage’ from “Best of Soundgarden Redux”

‘Rusty Cage’
“Best of Soundgarden Redux”

On the first single taken from the volume “Best of Soundgarden Redux“, which will be released parallel to the forthcoming MER Redux Series installment “Superunknown Redux“, American sludge metal stalwarts WITCH RIPPER present their mind-blowing cover of the SOUNDGARDEN‘ megahit ‘Rusty Cage‘.

More information about this album can be found below. “Best of Soundgarden Redux” has been scheduled for release on July 14.

WITCH RIPPER‘s take on ‘Rusty Cage’ is now available for publication via this linkhttps://youtu.be/7trItbmXblI

pre-sale link

Parallel to “Superunknown Redux”, Magnetic Eye Records will release the companion album entitled “Best of Soundgarden Redux” that contains 15 cover versions of deep cuts and all-time classics from across SOUNDGARDEN’s extensive catalog recorded by more exciting artists.

taken from the album “Best of Soundgarden”
WITCH RIPPER comment: “Soundgarden was one of the first bands that I got into as a kid”, singer and guitarist Chad Fox writes. “The vibe of the music and particularly Chris Cornell’s vocals made Seattle seem like some far away magical land of sound, even though I grew up only an hour away.  Even as a kid, I somehow knew that Soundgarden were one of the best bands to ever do it, and they inspired me to eventually move to Seattle to create my own music.”

Curtis Parker adds: “I knew, ‘Rusty Cage’ was the song that we wanted to tackle right away”, the vocalist and guitarist recalls. “The song is uptempo and energetic while there are also some crazy time signatures and polyrhythms going on. It was a fun challenge to map out this banger and then add some changes to make it our own. It’s a deceptively difficult song, but once we cracked the code, it was an absolute blast to put together.”

WITCH RIPPER have just released their acclaimed sophomore full-length “The Flight After the Fall” in March this year. The album comes with plenty of aggression and barely tamed electricity, but also fleetly intricate guitar interplay, touches of subtle synth, cosmic atmospherics, and catchy clean vocal hooks. The Americans maintain their brutal origins while embracing the arena rock bombast of QUEEN and DAVID BOWIE, alongside the exuberant modern prog of COHEED AND CAMBRIA and MUSE.

Born and raised in the city of grey skies and loud music, Seattle in 2012, Washington’s WITCH RIPPER seamlessly weld together the contemporary heaviness of hard-hitting acts like MASTODON, GOJIRA, and BARONESS with the anthemic quality of classic rock artists. With a self-titled EP “Witch Ripper” (2012) and the debut full-length “Homestead” (2018),the band garnered both critical acclaim and a strong buzz in the underground metal scene. WITCH RIPPER have performed alongside heavy rock outfits such as MONOLORD, CONAN, and RUBY THE HATCHET as well as modern metal acts including SLIPKNOT, GOJIRA, and KHEMMIS among many others. WITCH RIPPER approach their music in true American fashion: big riffs, bigger hooks, and damn, that drummer! With “The Flight After the Fall”, this heavy Seattle outfit re-emerge boldly into the guitar-driven US metal scene.

Best of Soundgarden Redux album cover
Tracklist “Best of Soungarden Redux”
1. Freedom Hawk ‘Loud Love’
2. Heavy Temple ‘Ugly Truth’
3. High Desert Queen ‘Slaves and Bulldozers’
4. Witch Ripper ‘Rusty Cage’
5. Mirakler ‘Birth Ritual’
6. Miss Lava ‘Burden in My Hand’
7. Sun Crow ‘Toy Box’
8. Spotlights ‘Jesus Christ Pose’
9. Swamp Coffin ‘Nothing to Say’
10. Milana ‘Outshined’
11. Josiah ‘Applebite’
12. Lamassu ‘Searching with My Good Eye Closed’
13. Blue Heron ‘Uncovered’
14. Dendrites ‘Tighter and Tighter’
15. Restless Spirit ‘Room a Thousand Years Wide’
WITCH RIPPER by Chris Schanz
“Best of Soundgarden Redux” is the customary companion album which is released alongside each re-imagined full album in the Magnetic Eye Records Redux Series. Accompanying “Superunknown Redux”, another 15 exciting acts deliver their renditions of all-time classics and deep cuts from across the rest of the grunge gods’ extensive catalogue on “Best of Soundgarden Redux”.

Rising at the end of the 20th Century, SOUNDGARDEN were loud, heavy, genuine, and unaffected by whatever was cool.  Their mix of weighty power, soaring melodies and punk sneer made them ideal standard bearers for the grunge movement, but their towering musicianship and intelligent songcraft helped them transcend the era and remain iconic far beyond their origins in the Seattle scene. Arguably their finest and most comprehensive statement, Superunknown” was the album that launched them to global mega-stardom. It contains some of the most lasting, meaningful, and heaviest songs they ever wrote.

The Magnetic Eye Redux Series and its companion volumes feature hand-picked classic albums from across the history of rock and metal re-imagined in their entirety from start to finish. Artists we love from within and outside the heavy rock landscape choose tracks to make their own, bringing these milestone records into the new millennium with crushing heaviness and searing energy. To date, we’ve produced Redux editions of PINK FLOYD’s “The Wall”, HELMET’s “Meantime”, BLACK SABBATH’s “Vol. 4”, HENDRIX’s “Electric Ladyland”, ALICE IN CHAINS’ “Dirt”, and AC/DC’s “Back in Black”, which have included artists like RED FANG, MATT PIKE, PALLBEARER, THE MELVINS, ALL THEM WITCHES, KHEMMIS, ASG, SUPERSUCKERS, ZAKK WYLDE, MARK LANEGAN, RUBY THE HATCHET, and many more amazing artists.

Enhance your experience of Magnetic Eye Records and friends paying long-due respect to the Seattle legends with “Best of Soundgarden Redux”, presented alongside “Superunknown Redux“, the label’s seventh foray into Redux territory.

Release date: July 14, 2023
Style: Doom, Stoner Rock & Metal, Psych Rock et al.


“Best of Soundgarden Redux” is available as  a gatefold marble clear and black vinyl 2LP, a gatefold transparent yellow vinyl 2LP, and a gatefold black vinyl 2LP, and as a Digisleeve 2CD.

"Soundgarden Redux" Kickstarter banner