Values Here put the punk back in pop with new single + video “Do You Know Why?”

Values Here put the punk back in pop with new single + video

“Do You Know Why?”

New album Take Your Time, I’ll Be Waiting out September 22nd

on End Hits Records

Photo Credit: Bernard J. Hunt

WATCH: “Do You Know Why?”
STREAM: “Do You Know Why?”

Earlier this month, the world was introduced to Values Here, the new band led by Barcelona-based vocalist Chui and legendary guitarist John Porcelly (Youth Of Today, Shelter, Judge), with the punchy single “Will Be Tomorrow.” Today, the band shares “Do You Know Why?,” a track driven by jangly guitars and a bright disposition. The high-energy punk meets floaty pop style sounds like it should have been on the soundtrack of 90’s films like Clueless or Empire Records, perfect to accompany an empowering moment. The video for “Do You Know Why?” finds the band spending a gorgeous day getting in touch with nature and can be watched HERE. Both singles appear on Take Your Time, I’ll Be Waiting, the debut album from Values Here set for release September 22nd on End Hits Records, available for preorder HERE.

On writing “Do You Know Why?” Chui states:

“I’ve been playing in punk and hardcore bands since I was 15, and I tried everything to be successful with it. I worked my ass off but it just didn’t get anywhere. In the end I felt so exhausted that I thought about giving up, I kept singing different styles of music but didn’t play in a band for a few years and I really missed that a lot, I love singing and dancing to pop music too, but it wasn’t the same.

In that moment when i wasn’t looking for  nothing  this opportunity for Values Here came up. It was like a gift from the universe. This made me realize that sometimes we want to force things to happen, to control everything in our lives but life doesn’t always work that way. Like the lyrics say, ‘Destiny has its own rules,’ and ‘Flow and you’ll find.’”

Values Here has been a long time in the making, with Chui and Porcell first meeting years ago at a Shelter show in Chui’s hometown of Barcelona, Spain. A somewhat-joking conversation of the two forming a band ensued and Chui continued to follow-up with Porcell on social media until one day during the pandemic, he decided to send her some unused demos and she came back the next day with “Will Be Tomorrow,” complete with several vocal tracks and harmonies. From there the pair spent a year writing songs and narrowed it down to what would eventually become the thirteen tracks on Take Your Time, I’ll Be Waiting. The album itself is optimistic and hopeful, keeping forth a positive mental attitude mindset. With production by Tom Soares (Judge, Shelter) and mastering by Dave Kutch (Billie Eilish, The Weeknd), the band, rounded out by by bassist Tim Brooks (Bold) and drummer Vinny Panza, were able to create a dynamic sound with songs that would fit on the radio as much as they would connect with jumping around in a mosh pit. There are tracks with straight up classic New York Hardcore influence like the aptly titled “Bring Me The PMA” and ones that venture into pop rock territory such as “We Get Stronger.”

Values Here are creating anthemic, energetic songs to shout and dance along with, leaning into the positive, optimistic perspective that gave hardcore punk a sense of community and connectivity in the first place.

Take Your Time, I’ll Be Waiting Tracklist:

1. Will Be Tomorrow

2. Bring Me The PMA

3. Feeling Down

4. Do You Know Why

5. It’s Your Business Not Mine

6. We Get Stronger

7. Don’t Dig It Up

8. Earthlings

9. Lift Your Head

10. I Will Forget

11. Victory

12. No One’s Left Behind

13. Last Forever