THE WORD ALIVE release new single and announce new album



Photo Credit: Wolfe Eliot

THE WORD ALIVE have shared their brilliant new single, ‘Slow Burn’, produced by Hiram Hernandez, (As I Lay DyingBlessthefallAVOIDErik Ron, (Nothing.NowhereToo Close To TouchI Prevail) and Matt Good, (Asking AlexandriaHollywood UndeadSleeping With Sirens). Alongside this release comes the band’s highly-anticipated announcement of their forthcoming record, Hard Reset, due 25th August via Thriller Records.

Watch the music video to ‘Slow Burn’ here.
Stream ‘Slow Burn’ here.
Pre-order Hard Reset here.

‘Slow Burn’ enters on a powerful note and ascends into a tranquil melody showcasing crisp clean vocals. Rock tones fill the song to the brim as the track shimmers an atmosphere of serene tranquility. The single highlights THE WORD ALIVE‘s ability to cultivate fresh dynamics, taking fans into the brand new era for the band. “This song is like a vision of yourself getting into a car crash in slow motion. You’re helpless and nobody can save you but yourself… But it’s too late. Is it a vision? Or is it inevitable.” – Telle Smith

BAND NAME – ‘Single Title’

‘Slow Burn’ is a follow-up track to recently released singles, ‘Strange Love‘, ‘New Reality‘ and ‘Nocturnal Future‘.

Earlier this spring, the band premiered ‘New Reality’ on Octane and it quickly became a fan favorite; garnering loud audience participation from the crowd on tour. Previously, THE WORD ALIVE closed out 2022 with single ‘Nocturnal Future’, which gained notable editorial playlist support from All New Metal and Crash Course amongst others. ‘Slow Burn’ can be found on THE WORD ALIVE‘s forthcoming record, Hard Reset. 

“There will be talks of returning to our roots, blending eras of The Word Alive and of course, evolution. As you embark on this next chapter with us, we hope you’ll find something worthy of connection. Whether it helps you overcome, forget, remember, embrace, or even escape… We hope you’ll enjoy the seventh chapter of our story, and remember.. We are The Word Alive, all of us.”

THE WORD ALIVE – ‘Hard Reset’
Album ArtworkTrack Listing:

1. The Word Alive Is Dead…
2. Hard Reset
3. Strange Love
4. One of Us (Ft. Bad Omens)
5. New Reality
6. Hate Me (Ft. Loveless)
7. Slow Burn
8. Fade Away (Ft. Escape the Fate)
9. A New Empty (Ft. Philip Strand)
10. Statis Rain
11. Invisible Army
12. Nocturnal Future
13. War With You (Ft. From First to Last)

We advance by breaking boundaries. THE WORD ALIVE alchemise hard rock, electronic, and metal into a distinct breed of alternative all their own. The gold-certified Phoenix, AZ outfit— Telle Smith [vocals, guitar, programming] Zack Hansen [guitars] and newly added Daniel Nelson [drums] —instinctively blur genre lines with a bold balance of infectiousness and intensity underlined by cinematic scope. After quietly generating nearly 1 billion streams, playing sold out shows on a consistent basis, and attracting a diehard audience, they level up once more on their seventh full-length offering and 2023 debut for Thriller Records, Hard Reset.“We wanted to take the essence of the band—the heaviness, the atmospherics, the experimental elements, and the melodic side—and put everything into one album,” says Telle. “We took the things we’ve done best and molded them together to create a solidified version of the band. We tried to push ourselves and the boundaries of our genre within the songwriting: from the vocals to the music. Moving forward, you can say, ‘I know who The Word Alive is’.”

They’ve diligently carved out this vision since their 2008 formation. The group morphed in real-time across Deceiver [2010], Life Cycles [2012], Real. [2014], Dark Matter [2016], and Violent Noise [2018]. Among many standouts from the latter, ‘Why Am I Like This?’ amassed over 31 million Spotify streams and counting. In between, they appeared on high-profile collaborations such as League of Legends’ ‘RISE [feat. Mako, The Word Alive, & Glitch Mob]’, which has tallied 263 million Spotify streams alone and reached RIAA Gold status. The band also toured with everyone from Motionless In White and Wage War to StarsetBeartooth and I Prevail in addition to earning acclaim from Billboard, KERRANG!, Rock Sound, Alternative Press, and more. 2020’s MONOMANIA boasted a great title track plus a pained single ‘NO WAY OUT’, gathering nearly 14 million-plus Spotify streams.

In the midst of the Global Pandemic, THE WORD ALIVE continued to write and record, devoting time to redefining the sound for the next era. “We set the standard so much higher,” Telle goes on. “We spent a lot of time breaking down songs, rewriting them, and upping the intensity when they weren’t hitting the mark. Everything shifted, and it just drove the creative process into a new realm. It took a lot of concentration and energy, but it was worth it. We took a ‘dream team’ approach with it. We captured the urgency we’ve always aimed for.”

Band Members:
Telle Smith – vocals / guitars
Zack Hansen – guitars / programming
Daniel Nelson – drums

Social Media Links:
Website || Facebook || Instagram || Twitter || YouTube || TikTok