SOULFLY Announce 12th Studio Album, ‘Totem’, Reveal First Single, ‘Superstition’


Underground icon, extreme metal trailblazer and leader of a diverse and dedicated tribe, Max Cavalera not only survives but thrives, blasting out riff after killer riff. The same voice, body and spirit which launched SOULFLY in 1997 summons impossibly heavy noise to this day, throwing down ten slabs of monstrous music on the band’s twelfth album, ‘Totem’ which is set for release via Nuclear Blast on August 5th.
Today, the band offers the tribe the first taste of the album with the single, ‘Superstition’. Check out the lyric video created by Aimed & Framed alongside 3D character artist, Álvar Gómez Padilla below. You can also listen to ‘Superstition’ on your streaming platform of choice, or pre-save to be in with a chance of winning a prize. See full physical pre-order options here.
SOULFLY’s Max Cavalera informs,
“Totem is a celebration of the spiritual nature. It was a 2-year journey writing with Zyon. This album is about all the joy, the fun, and the anger in Metal.”
‘Totem’ will be available in the following formats:
  • CD Jewelcase
  • Blue Cassette (Limited to 300)
  • Long Box
  • CD Jewelcase
  • Sticker
  • Pin
  • Vinyl
  • Black
  • Gold
  • Bundle
  • Album Shirt
  • CD Jewelcase
‘Totem’ was recorded at Platinum Underground in Mesa Arizona by John Aquilino and Arthur Rizk with assistance from John Powers. Produced by Max alongside Arthur Rizk (Kreator, Code Orange), the album boasts guest appearances from John Powers (Eternal Champion), Chris Ulsh (Power Trip), and John Tardy (Obituary). Arthur Rizk was also responsible for playing lead guitar on the record.
Album artwork for the album created by James Bousema.
TOTEM tracklisting:
  1. Superstition
  2. Scouring The Vile
  3. Filth Upon Filth
  4. Rot In Pain
  5. The Damage Done
  6. Totem
  7. Ancestors
  8. Ecstasy Of Gold
  9. Soulfly XII
  10. Spirit Animal
Max Cavalera | Vocals & Guitar
Zyon Cavalera | Drums
Mike Leon | Bass Guitar
Find SOULFLY Online: