Seattle’s Museum Of Light Release Debut Album ‘Horizon’

Screen Shot 2021-06-24 at 10.00.15 AM

Seattle’s Museum Of Light Release Debut Album ‘Horizon’

Recorded with Kowloon Walled City’s Scott Evans (Thrice, Heiress, Thou, Sleep)

FFO: Russian Circles, Torche, Kownloon Walled City, Cave In, Helms Ale

“Museum of Light feels, intensely, like this is where Seattle rock needs to be right now.”- Nanobot Rock

“Spacious yet hard-hitting mix of post-metal and post-hardcore.”- Brooklynvegan

“Finds the band expertly swinging between heavy post rock, grunge, doom, and progressive metal tones.”- Destroy / Exist

“The band creates their own sound that’s catchy and infectious.”- Closed Captioned


Seattle, WA’s Museum of Light has released its debut album ‘Horizon’ via Spartan Records. Limited edition vinyl vinyl is avaiable at


Stream ‘Horizon’ on DSPs:

Order the album on vinyl here:

On ‘Horizon’ the trio (which notably includes Rob Smith of Traindodge fame on drums) expertly balances the opposing worlds of heavy and ambient music; Equal parts big, crushing, overwhelmingly heavy riffs and dreamy, Zen-like washes of ambience and found sound.

Guitarist/vocalist Ted Alvarez explains, “Those would seem to be incompatible, but the more we played, the more we realized those two things could mesh, and could be incredibly appealing to us. For us, both are coming from places of joy, pleasure, and serenity as opposed to anger or rage. Don’t get us wrong — there’s plenty of wonderful aggressive music that comes from those places. But there sure is a lot of it already. This stuff should be a release to listen to and certainly to play, and that’s ultimately a positive vibe.”

Smith adds, “We are massive fans of complexity and wonderfully dense and abstruse music, and I think there are some surprising ways in which that sneaks out. But we placed that immediacy at the forefront.”

Horizon was recorded at Sharkbite Studios and Anti-Sleep Studios in Oakland, CA with Kowloon Walled City’s Scott Evans (Thrice, Heiress, Thou, Sleep).

Museum of Light:

Ted Alvarez – guitar, vocals

Rob Smith – drums

Ezekiel Rudick – bass

Screen Shot 2022-05-20 at 9.21.20 AM