RedHook release fiery music video for ‘Postcard Xo’

RedHook release scorching debut album

‘Postcard From A Living Hell’

(RedHook Records)

Order & Stream Here

Featuring new single ‘Postcard Xo’ – a hellscape of trauma and self-sabotage:

Watch the newly-released music video

UK & European tour dates supporting Stand Atlantic in June plus appearance at Download Festival announced

Eora/Sydney-based alt-rock shapeshifters RedHook have just unleashed their scorching debut album ‘Postcard From A Living Hell’ – produced by Stevie Knight (Stand Atlantic, Yours Truly) in collaboration with band member Craig Wilkinson, and mixed by James Paul Wisner (Underoath, Paramore).

New single and focus track ‘Postcard Xo’ (for which a fiery music video has just been released) opens the LP, taking us “down that rabbit hole” into a nightmarish hellscape of trauma and self-sabotage. Written as a letter from rock bottom where vocalist Emmy Mack ruminates on struggles with depression and intrusive thoughts of self-harm, the song is also RedHook’s boldest and wackiest musical composition to date. “‘Postcard Xo’ is a pretty dark song, both musically and thematically,” says Emmy. “It’s about finding yourself back in the familiar landscape of rock bottom after a string of preventable fuck-ups, wrestling with feelings of guilt, shame and worthlessness, and wishing the worst for yourself – because that’s exactly what you feel like you deserve.”

‘Postcard From A Living Hell’ is 11 charismatic, hook-laden tracks forged in RedHook’s particle collider of sonic influences, fusing together elements of metalcore, pop-punk, nu-metal, alt-rock, and classic metal with trap, EDM and pop. The record is stacked with radio singles, including the femme-powered breakup anthem ‘Imposter’ feat. Yours Truly, saxophone-powered pop-punk self-roast ‘Soju’ feat. Sly Withers, the self-produced one-two punch of diabolical emo-meets-d’n’b banger ‘Low Budget Horror’ and incendiary anti-misogyny manifesto ‘SAY’.

From the sucker-punching hard rock of ‘The Critic’, to the chaotic rap-fuelled metalcore of ‘Psych Vs. Psych’, to the darker synth-pop deviance of ‘An Intervention’ and the heartfelt alt-rock balladry of ‘Inarticulate’ feat. The Faim, ‘Postcard From A Living Hell’ is a unique and expansive body of work that showcases the full spectrum of RedHook’s colourful musical multiverse. Emmy’s superlative bravery in the fan-resonant ‘Jabberwocky’ is complemented by the savagery of breakbeat rave monster ‘Off With Your Head’, as the album hits out against injustice and our most persuasive demons while expressing a slew of relatable ordeals that make life feel like a living hell.

Previous singles ‘Imposter’ feat. Yours Truly, ‘Soju’ feat. Sly Withers, ‘SAY’ and ‘Jabberwocky’ were all added to full rotation on triple j, and have received immense support from the likes of Spotify, Apple Music, Amazon Music, BBC Radio 1, Kerrang!, triple j Unearthed and NME.

Following a clutch of dates supporting the Smashing Pumpkins in Australia this week, RedHook are set to embark on their biggest national Australian headline tour yet, presented by triple j. The band will be visiting fans across 11 regional and metro cities in May before they head back to the UK and Europe to support Stand Atlantic and play the iconic Download Festival in June:

06 June Southampton Engine Rooms UK

07 June Brighton         Concorde 2      UK

08 June Bristol             The Fleece       UK

09 June Download Festival                  UK

14 June Strasbourg      La Laiterie Artefact   France

16 Jun   Eindhoven       Dynamo           Netherlands

20 Jun   Bochum          Rotunde           Germany

21 Jun   Trier                Mergener Hof e.V.      Germany