Mike Tod Re-Lights The Torch Of Old-Time Tradition On Self-Titled LP – Out April 13th

Mike Tod Re-Lights The Torch Of Old-Time Tradition On

Debut Self-Titled LP

Mike Tod due out April 13th; Molly Little-animated music video for “The Coo Coo” out today

Nashville, TN – March 15, 2023 – Canadian ethnomusicologist and musician Mike Tod might just be the most identifiable bridge carrying our musical past into current day and beyond. With conviction and candor, he sings well-worn traditionals, researches their roots, and shares them in a fashion that feels authentically of another time, while still firmly planted in the present. He forges old-time songs into historical epics, conjuring visions of western portraits and weathered landscapes, immersing listeners in traditional songs recorded with modern clarity and true grit.

On April 13th, Tod will release his debut full-length studio album; a self-titled affair that finds its instrumentation honoring the history of old-time music while its expansive, cinematic arrangements focus Tod’s grand vision through a modern lens.

Today, Tod shared the second track from his Mike Tod LP, “The Coo Coo.” “It’s one hell of an eerie, haunting song when you really pay attention to the lyrics,” says Tod of the song that’s been recorded by everyone from Clarence Ashley—on the Anthology of American Folk Music—to (Tod’s personal favorite) Ramblin’ Jack Elliot. “There’s themes of addiction, potential homelessness, and obsession over an individual. Almost creepy, but for sure scary.” The driving and moody string band instrumentation aids in painting Tod’s version of “The Coo Coo” in a dark light. “I’d say our version shows that this song is more like a horror movie than anything else,” says Tod.

Accompanying the release of “The Coo Coo” is a beautifully animated music video from Molly Little. The sepia-tinged, high contrast animation follows the lyrics of this classic song closely, matching the mood and dynamics scene by scene. Folk Radio UK premiered the video last Thursday, saying, “There’s a gorgeously dark underlying drone that’s accentuated by Tod’s well-worn tenor vocals while his talented band pull out all the stops on one of the best arrangements I’ve heard for this folk song…the whole arrangement works on every level, lending it a dark southern gothic feel. I’m looking forward to hearing more from Mike Tod.”

Fans can watch “The Coo Coo” now at this link. “The Coo Coo” audio can be streamed or purchased today right here, and Mike Tod’s upcoming self-titled album can be pre-ordered at this link. For more information, please visit miketod.com.

Mike Tod Tracklist:

1. The Coo Coo

2. The Blackest Crow

3. Flowers of Edinburgh

4. Cigarettes and Whiskey

5. Undone In Sorrow

6. Back To My Home

7. Little Wheel Spin and Spin

8. Cold Frosty Morn

9. Wait For Me

10. My Alberta Rose

More About Mike Tod: Tod’s previous work with old-time duo Godfrey & Tod earned praise from Exclaim, who declared it “ought to be required listening for Albertans, and comes highly recommended for the rest of us.” As an ethnomusicologist, Tod’s The Folk podcast series on the lesser-known histories of folk and old-time music in Canada was called “an unlikely hit” by the Calgary Herald. It’s said that to know where we’re going we must know where we’ve been. Mike Tod reminds us that the past, present, and future are inexorably linked in song.