Australian Indie Folk Band Boy & Bear Release Official Music Video for Latest Single “Apex!”

Australian Indie Folk Band Boy & Bear Release Official Music Video for Latest Single “Apex!”

Self-Titled New Full-Length Studio Album – Due Out May 26, 2023

B B Music Video

New York, NY – 15 March 2023 – Australian indie pop band Boy & Bear have released the official music video for their latest single “Apex.” Directed by LA and Sydney-based Maclay Heriot, the newly released video pieces together footage from Boy & Bear’s recent series of global live shows alongside raw behind-the-scenes moments. Drawing upon Heriot’s background as a touring music photographer, the visuals capture a band in a cohesive working groove – spending time together to nurture a sound that’s fondly held by fans the world over. On record as on film, Dave Hosking’s immediate vocals croon beneath an arpeggiated guitar, as an easy flow of warm grooves flavor the echoed choruses and coos.

A Boy & Bear live show is a magical experience and the same energy way felt when I was invited into the studio to document the recording sessions at Golden Retriever. Working in the studio is a peek behind the curtain of the creative process and provides the opportunity to capture unguarded moments. Having the chance to be a fly on the wall is rare, and to be able to share these moments alongside the live show footage from Woodford Folk Festival is insight into the talent and love this band has for one another and why they do what they do.” – Maclay Heriot

“Apex” is the third single and third music video to be released off the band’s forthcoming self-titled and self-produced album which will be released independently on May 26th. The album will be their fifth full-length (including two ARIA chart number ones!) release and was recorded at Golden Retriever Studios in Marrickville (an inner-city suburb of their Sydney hometown) and mixed by GRAMMY Award-winning engineer Craig Silvey (Florence + the Machine, Arcade Fire, The National) at Toast Studios in London.

Sydney-based Boy & Bear have released four ARIA chart-topping albums to much critical acclaim since their 2009 formation. Over the years the band has performed all over the world with two sell-out shows at the Sydney Opera House and their US TV debut on Conan O’Brien. Most recently, their music appeared in a campaign alongside Matthew McConaughey, the band performed alongside Crowded House, and enjoyed widespread success on their first independent releases, “State Of Flight” and “Just To Be Kind.” The official video for “Apex” is out today (WATCH HERE) with more to come from the band soon.

BBEAR008 Album 3000px

Boy & Bear

1. Strange World
2. State of Flight
3. Silver Moon
4. Magnus
5. Apex
6. Muscle
7. Crossfire
8. Just to Be Kind
9. Tin Man
10. Hostage
11. The Wheel