AARON WEST and THE ROARING TWENTIES to release new album ‘In Lieu Of Flowers’ on Apr 12TH

AARON WEST and THE ROARING TWENTIES to release new album ‘In Lieu Of Flowers’ on April 12th

New single ‘In Lieu Of Flowers’ out now

photo by Mitchell Wojcik

You can’t ignore wounds forever.

Just ask Aaron West.

Nearly five years since their last album, Routine Maintenance, Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties return with In Lieu Of Flowers, out April 12 on Hopeless Records.

Aaron West is both a band and a story. It’s a work of narrative fiction initially formed in 2013 by Philadelphia songwriter Dan Campbell, best known as the vocalist of The Wonder Years, but it expands with every gig and every person in every room.

The album’s title track, “In Lieu of Flowers,” is out today

–– arriving nearly at the close of the record, it’s a jubilant-sounding reminder of the lessons Aaron put off learning.

“What makes the storytelling come alive is the buy-in, Dan explains, comparing the project to pro-wrestling. “There’s this arena full of people and they know that person in the ring isn’t an undead zombie mortician. It’s a guy, his name is Mark, but they buy into it because that mass suspension of disbelief is where the magic is.”

AARON WEST and THE ROARING TWENTIES – ‘In Lieu Of Flowers’ (Official Music Video)


Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties will play an album release show for In Lieu Of Flowers on April 11 in Asbury Park, NJ. Tickets are on sale now. And because the Aaron West universe is a shared and ever-changing experience, the show will also be live streamed so fans from all over the world can watch. Livesteam are available to bundle with the album pre-order here.

To understand the story of In Lieu Of Flowers is to know where Aaron’s path has taken him so far. It all begins with the worst year of his life, marked by profound loss––grief, divorce and miscarriage––detailed on his 2014 debut, We Don’t Have Each Other, and 2016’s Bittersweet (EP).

2019’s Routine Maintenance begins a new chapter for Aaron, albeit short-lived. After a bar fight lands him in jail and he has no one to call, Aaron heads to Los Angeles for a fresh start where he occupies his time between crappy jobs and open mic nights. On the road playing gigs, he forms a band and they start to gain some traction before another blow hits his family––the loss of his brother-in-law.

He finds a new purpose in the aftermath; “I’m going to be someone you can count on for a change,” he sings on the album’s closing title track.

The new album picks up where Routine Maintenance left off, starting from the solo tours that Dan went on shortly after its release––on stage, he talked about leaving the band to care for his grieving sister Catherine and nephew Colin, but that solo touring felt like shit. The band soon got back together––as documented on their Live From Asbury Park album recorded over the course of two December 2019 shows.

In the interceding years, Aaron is forced to finally tend to the wounds he’s ignored for over a decade, and that brings us to In Lieu of Flowers.

It’s a triumphant kind of melancholy that colors this entire record as Aaron learns that things don’t go away just because you ignore them. Its message is driven home thanks to the 16-piece band that helped bring it to life with guitar, accordion, keys, banjo, pedal steel, trumpets, trombone, saxophone, cello, and violin.


1. Smoking Rooms

2. Roman Candles

3. Paying Bills at the End of the World

4. Monogahela Park

5. Alone at St. Luke’s

6. Whiplash

7. Spitting in the Wind

8. I’m an Albatross

9. Runnin’ Out of Excuses

10. In Lieu of Flowers

11. Dead Leaves