ZULU Debut album ‘A New Tomorrow’ set for March 3rd release

ZULU debut album ‘A New Tomorrow’ out March 3rd on Flatspot Records and availble to pre-order now – HERE

New single ‘Fakin’ Tha Funk (You Get Did)’ is out now,
watch the video HERE

They just completed a US tour with OFF!, have a 2023 US tour with Show Me The Body, Jesus Piece and Scowl, and will be in the UK for
Outbreak Festival 2023

Los Angeles 5 piece ZULU are a band known for their blend of hardcore and powerviolence and on their forthcoming debut album ‘A New Tomorrow’, they are pushing the boundaries of those sounds into new territory. Set for release March 3rd 2023 through the ever excellent Flatspot Records, the band have already shared first single “Fakin’ Tha Funk (You Get Did),” a minute long song bursting at the seams with a heavy dose of reality and the riffs to match it. The video was filmed and directed by vocalist Anaiah Lei and guitarist Dez Yusef,
and you can watch it HERE

On the lyrics, vocalist Lei explains: “Everyone wants to be black, but nobody really wants to be black. People take from our culture, use our language and surround themselves with people from the culture which in turn makes them believe they are a part of it. Those that will benefit from it when people in our community are looked down upon for being how they were born.”

‘A New Tomorrow’ serves as the band’s first full-length, following EPs ‘Our Day Will Come’ (2019) and ‘My People..Hold On’ (2020). Taking on the task of self-producing the record, ZULU immersed themselves in collaborator Zach Tuch’s (Dare, Trash Talk) studio in the valley. After spending months toying with different instrumentation and samples, and pulling influences ranging from reggae to death metal, the result is an eclectic 15 tracks. You’ll hear in-your-face breakdowns adjacent to more soulful and jazz inspired sounds, screams making way for beautiful moments of spoken word. Instilling a sense of community and collaboration, the band brought in Soul Glo’s Pierce Jordan, Playytime’s Obioma Ugonna, and Truth Cult’s Paris Roberts for features on tracks.

The connection ZULU brings throughout ‘A New Tomorrow’ is also apparent at the band’s fun and chaotic live shows, which have been almost non-stop for the past year and show zero signs of slowing down. The band have just finished up a US tour with OFF!, in the new year will be touring the US with Show Me The Body, Jesus Piece, Scowl, and TRiPP JONES (starting February 9th), and will be appearing at multiple festivals in 2023, including Jera On Air in NL, Outbreak festival in GB and Full Force in Germany.

‘A New Tomorrow’ is available for pre-order now through Flatspot Records.

ZULU are vocalist Anaiah Lei (vocals), Braxton Marcellous (guitar), Dez Yusuf (guitar), Satchel Brown (bass) and Christine Cadette (drums).

‘A New Tomorrow’ track-list:
1. Africa
2. For Sista Humphrey
3. Our Day Is Now
4. Music To Driveby
5. Where I’m From (Ft. Pierce Jordan & Obioma Ugonna)
6. Fakin’ Tha Funk (You Get Did)
7. Shine Eternally
8. Must I Only Share My Pain
9. Lyfe Az A Shorty Shun B So Ruff
10. From Tha Gods To Earth
11. Créme De Cassis By Aleisia Miller & Precious Tucker
12. We’re More Than This
13. 52 Fatal Strikes (Ft. Paris Roberts)
14. Divine Intervention
15. Who Jah Bless No One Curse