VOIVOD drop new album and video for ‘Morgöth Tales’



Photo Credit: Catherine Deslauriers

Canadian sci-fi metal innovators VOÏVOD are celebrating 40 eventful years of existence in 2023 with the release of their special anniversary studio album entitled Morgöth Tales, out now via Century Media Records. The band have shared a music video for the album’s title track ‘Morgöth Tales’, streaming now.

Watch the video for ‘Morgöth Tales’ here.
Order Morgöth Tales here.

On the new single, VOIVOD guitarist Daniel “Chewy” Mongrain shares:
“‘Morgöth Tales’ was written especially for this project with fresh new ideas. While it certainly captures some of the essence of the Voïvodian universe and incorporates lyrical quotes and ‘titles’ from Voïvod’s discography, it is in phase with the current line-up approach that celebrates the past by moving forward, exploring new creative paths. The signal emanating from Morgöth keeps transmitting Data of new tales to discover. Tune-in and be part of the odyssey!”

VOÏVOD – ‘Morgöth Tales’

Once more recorded and mixed by Francis Perron at RadicArt Studio, mastered by Maor Appelbaum and produced by VOIVODMorgöth Tales includes fresh studio (re-)recordings by the band’s current line-up of nine especially selected, not-so-obvious picks from the band’s hyper-classy and extremely diverse back catalogue (between 1984 and 2003) as well as a brand-new song in the album’s title-track, ‘Morgöth Tales’.

VOIVOD drummer Michel “Away” Langevin commented about Morgöth Tales:
Morgöth Tales covers 40 years of space exploration. It was really exciting for us to revisit a more obscure part of the Voïvod catalogue, from thrash-punk to prog-metal to…? The title track is a new song, which we started writing in the tour bus and hotels during the Opeth European tour in November / December 2022. It has the vibe of the experimental music we are doing nowadays, with a new twist I think. We also had the great thrill of getting E-Force and Jasonic involved on this album. I hope you’ll dig it, Chewy, Rocky, Snake and I certainly had a blast recording it. All aboard and ready for take off!“

The Ltd. CD Jewelcase in O-Card and Digital Album formats come with a cover version of the Public Image Ltd. track “Home” (04:38) as bonus.

The LP format comes on 180g vinyl and with a 4page LP-Booklet in the following variants:

Black LP – Unlimited
White LP – Ltd. 800x copies (Canada – www.cmdistro.de)
Transparent Green LP – Ltd. 300x copies (www.cmdistro.de)
Red LP – Ltd. 300x copies (VOIVOD outlets)
The album’s pre-order begins today and is available here: https://voivodband.lnk.to/MorgothTales

Morgöth Tales succeeds VOIVOD’s 15th much acclaimed and Juno Awards winning studio album Synchro Anarchy, which entered sales charts upon release in early 2022 as follows: Germany #7, Switzerland #64, Austria #67, The Netherlands # 88, Belgium # 129, UK (Rock & Metal) # 7, Canada (Hard Music) # 2, USA Current Hard Music # 8, USA Top New Artist #11, USA Heatseekers #56 and USA Current Album #67. VOIVOD also released the special Ultraman EP in late 2022, which contains a highly original tribute to the Ultraman TV series theme.

VOIVOD – ‘Morgöth’ Tales’
Album Artwork – Michel “Away” LangevinTrack Listing:
1. Condemned To The Gallows (2023 Version) [Originally on Metal Massacre V Compilation, 1984]
2. Thrashing Rage (2023 Version) [Originally on “Rrröööaaarrr”, 1986]
3. Killing Technology (2023 Version) [Originally on “Killing Technology”, 1987]
4. Macrosolutions To Megaproblems (2023 Version) [Originally on “Dimension Hatröss”, 1988]
5. Pre-Ignition (2023 Version) [Originally on “Nothingface”, 1989]
6. Nuage Fractal (2023 Version) [Originally on “Angel Rat”, 1991]
7. Fix My Heart (2023 Version) [Originally on “The Outer Limits”, 1993]
8. Rise (2023 Version, feat. Eric Forrest) [Originally on “Phobos”, 1997]
9. Rebel Robot (2023 Version, feat. Jason Newsted) [Originally on “Voivod”, 2003]
10. Morgöth Tales [New Song]
Band Members:
Dominic “Rocky” Laroche – Bass
Michel “Away” Langevin – Drums
Denis “Snake” Bélanger – Vocals
Daniel “Chewy” Mongrain – GuitarSocial Media Links:
Website || Facebook || Instagram || Twitter