UK psych-punk sensation DEZ DARE drops “Bozo” video

UK psych-punk sensation Dez Dare shares “Bozo” video single from forthcoming album Perseus War
Watch/share “Bozo” YouTube
“Bloodbath-On-HI” VIDEO
“This balance – between big and small, between composure and fury – is what makes the record so engaging, Smallman’s gaze of disdain flitting from universal issue to idiosyncratic bugbear without pause. Where the emotive weight could easily be lost within the tumult of post Geelong guitars, here it is high and bold, registering with intimacy and wit.” — The WIRE Magazine
“The lone fighter is something like the punky-grungey and above all a few years younger version of Bevis Frond, offering fuzzy psychedelic noise rock on ‘Ulysses Trash’.” OX FANZINE [8/10]
“It’s a wild mix of classic garage rock, psychedelic elements (Hawkwind says hello), typical punk riffs of the late 1970s, noise rock à la Sonic Youth or Fugazi, repetitive, shamanic recitations. 34 captivating minutes over thirteen songs from one cast.” Amplified [8/10]
“’Ulysses Trash’ is brilliantly conceived, shockingly under-produced and a worthy testimony to one man’s trip. Over in the blink of an eye in a gloriously extended WTF moment of unbridled chaos “Ulysses Trash” is a triumph and will comprehensively add more aural colours to your sonic palette.” All Music [9/10]
“I would say if Hawkwind wrote two-three minute punk songs, they would sound just like this and that’s a hell of a compliment!” Über Rock
“A melting pot of thirteen tracks that take you on a musical roller coaster ride quite unlike any other.” RPM Online
“Bozo” is the second single and video from Dez Dare’s forthcoming album Perseus War. It delves into the murky underbelly of leadership, control and how the people who wield this power suffer a disconnect with reality and accountability (mostly…)
“Poor Bozo,” Dez says. “The disheveled leader who can’t get the people to understand he just can’t be fucked. It isn’t his problem, the plebs are so needy! Nanny always told him he was a good boy. Chin up mate.”
Perseus War is the 3rd album by Australian born, UK based artist Dez Dare. Leading on from 2022’s Ulysses Trash, Dez presents 10 songs of dystopian indifference captured over 4 weeks in late 2022. Meant to be a companion EP to the last record, ideas spilled, riffs flowed, Perseus was born.
Dez Dare (aka Darren Smallman of BATTLE WORLDWIDE, Low Transit Industries, Thee Vinyl Creatures, The Sound Platform, Warped) grew up in Geelong, a port city located on Corio Bay and the Barwon River, in the state of Victoria, Australia where he became involved in the local punk and rock scene in 1990, playing in a band called Warped, sharing stages with the likes of Bored!, The 5678s, Fugazi, The Dirty Three and the Hard-ons, going on to play in multiple bands spewing out sludgy punk rock, drone riffage and noisy pop abundance. Darren was embedded in the scene, playing music, running labels (founding record label and touring company Low Transit Industries in 1999 working with bands such as The Essex Green, Lilys, Elf Power, Okkervil River, Of Montreal, Black Mountain, Trans Am) before moving to the UK in 2010 where he has operated ever since.
Darren is autistic and writes songs about coping with neurotypical society on every album to help combat misinformation. The condition doesn’t define him, but it does inform his musical perspectives.
“I looked into the void to find solace (freedom to fight, freedom of mind),” is sung out in the opening line of “STOP. STOP. STOP. TALKING.” Regardless of the viewpoint Dez is singing from, this is the underlying sentiment. You can only be truly free with acceptance. Accepting you for who you are, that we all one day will die, that humans are flawed and beautiful, that otters are the best animals. Let go. The void has it covered.
Perseus War CD, digital, and vinyl album out on the 17th of March. Pre-order physical media and pre-save streams at
Artist: Dez Dare
Album: Perseus War
Record Label: CH!MP Records
Release Date: March 17th, 2023
01. Bozo
02. Perseus War
03. Myopic Tropic
04. Bloodbath-on-HI
05. A Chimp, A Tricycle, New World Order
06. I Know Why You Cry at Adam Sandler Films
07. OUCH!
08. My Heels + My Toes, My Lies + My Nose
09. BEACH!