TROPHY EYES release new single ‘Kill’ ahead of Slam Dunk appearances

TROPHY EYES release new single, ‘Kill’, ahead of Slam Dunk festival appearances

New album, ‘Suicide and Sunshine’, is released June 23rd on Hopeless Records

Australian punk rockers Trophy Eyes who recently announced their new album, ‘Suicide and Sunshine’, have today released a new single, Kill’.

“All’s fair in love and war,” says John Floreani. “We all carry the scars of love lost. They become visible in the things we do, our actions and our words. Like machines we continue, only now worn and rattling. Capable of our primary function, but with a little less grace each time. Some people use love as a weapon, and ‘Kill’ is about those people.”

Kill (Official Lyric Video)

TROPHY EYES – ‘Kill’ (Official Lyric Video)

Just like the title Suicide and Sunshine, Trophy Eyes’ fourth album is about contrast. About light and dark. About beauty and tragedy. About the full spectrum of life, as told through the eyes of frontman John Floreani.

“It’s the human experience,” says Floreani. “What we experience and how we navigate it. The millions of tiny flashes of light that are memories and thoughts and feelings and smells, all those little moments make up a lifetime. They’re beautifully tragic because they don’t mean anything to anyone, and on the scale of everything in the universe don’t mean a damn thing. But it’s so beautiful that they happen in the first place.”

If it sounds like Suicide and Sunshine is an album of Very Big Ideas, it is. They are, however, told through the lens of the everyday, each song a different “flash of light” from the frontman’s life.

Floreani’s willingness to dive so deeply into the most personal parts of his life is matched by the band’s desire to explore the very boundaries of the hardcore genre. Alongside Floreani’s impassioned vocals, drummer Blake Caruso’s insistent rhythms, Jeremy Winchester’s unflinching bass and the powerful guitars – handled by Floreani, producer Shane Edwards and former guitarist Andrew Hallett – the album is rich with anthemic hooks, dark modern pop, electronic flourishes courtesy of co-producer Fletcher Matthews, and atmospheric, swirling synths.



1) Sydney

2) Life In Slow Motion

3) People Like You

4) My Inheritance

5) Blue Eyed Boy

6) Runaway Come Home

7) Burden

8) Sean

9) What Hurts The Most

10) OMW

11) Kill

12) Sweet Soft Sound

13) Stay Here

14) Epilogue


Trophy Eyes return to the UK this month for performances at the Slam Dunk Festivals in Hatfield and Leeds on May 27th and 28th respectively. The band have also recently announced a headline date in London on May 29th at The Garage.