The Cold Stares Announce New Album ‘The Southern’ + UK Tour Dates

The Cold Stares Unveil New Album ‘The Southern’

Latest Single “Coming Home” Echoes Tales of Southern Resilience and Family Ties

Watch the music video for “Coming Home” HERE
Pre-order/save ‘The Southern’ HERE

Band announce  UK tour dates for Aug/Sep 2024
Tickets HERE

31 Aug – Ropetackle Arts Centre, Shoreham, UK
1 Sep – Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham, UK
3 Sep – The 1865, Southampton, UK
4 Sep – New Cross Inn, London, UK
5 Sep – The Bourne Music Club, Sittingbourne, UK

Also, checkout Horse to Water (Lyric Video)

The Cold Stares – “Coming Home” (Official Music Video)

Photo (C) Alex Morgan
Pre-Order The Southern Here

The Cold Stares, known for their electrifying blend of blues-rock, have just announced details of their highly anticipated seventh studio album, ‘The Southern,’ set for release on September 6th via Mascot Records. Delving deep into their Southern roots for the first time on record, the album embodies a true reflection of their heritage. “When it came time to record this album, I thought about everybody giving us this Southern rock tag, and decided to intentionally write songs that explore that,” says singer-guitarist Chris Tapp. “In doing so, I realized that being Southern, for me, is more than an accent, and a setlist of songs. It’s about family and tradition.”

Pre-order The Southern here –

The latest single from the album, “Coming Home,” is a plaintive, bluesy number played on dobro, echoing the depth of Southern familial ties and personal resilience. “Perhaps our most rootsy song to date, I wrote this song after a trip back to my hometown in Kentucky,” Tapp shares. “Touring the world and seeing so many countries has made me realize how unique the place I grew up was, and this song is just about getting back to our roots and where we came from.” Tapp sings about the enduring advice of his father: “My Father said son don’t forget to pray/Cause you know there will come a day/When this old world turns against you/You better have a plan to make your way.”

They have also announced a run of UK shows for August and September starting on 31 Aug at the Ropetackle Arts Centre, Shoreham, then they will be playing Sunflower Lounge (Birmingham), The 1865 (Southampton), New Cross Inn (London) and The Bourne Music Club (Sittingbourne) with more dates to be announced. Tickets are available HERE

Initially formed in 2012, The Cold Stares began its career as a duo, but expanded its sonic firepower with the addition of bassist Bryce Klueh in 2022. The Cold Stares has been praised by Classic Rock Magazine, No Depression, and American Songwriter, among other outlets; reached #1 on Amazon Music’s Blues Rock album chart; earned prime sync license placements in commercials, on major network television, and on sports games. Their song, “Mojo Hand,” is the trailer song for Cyberpunk 2077, and has amassed over 10 million streams on YouTube. The band has shared stages with
Larkin PoeRival SonsReignwolfJJ Grey & MofroSpoonGrand Funk Railroad, and Thievery Corp.

Though the trio has below the Mason-Dixon Line origins, the group mines a woolier sound than expected. Fuzzed-out guitars, Zep-style riffs, and fleet-fingered Cream-style improvisations abound, as do nods to Delta blues.

“Our version of the South is different,” says Tapp. “When Brian and I were young, we would sit in with these old guys at the local lodge, at the time they were still playing the old hits by Bad Company, Robin Trower, and AC/DC mixed in with country and southern rock – artists like the Allman Brothers Band and Lynyrd Skynyrd. When I heard Free’s ‘All Right Now’ I thought they were from Georgia!”

Drawing from the wild tales his grandfather shared with him, Tapp’s cinematic songwriting weaves narratives as vivid as the Western movies they watched together. These stories of crooked cops and outlaw heroes, and local legends like “Hoppy” who tapped out rhythms while shining shoes, infuse the album with a rich, narrative depth. It is thus fitting that one of the standout tracks is titled “Coming Home,” a song that encapsulates the essence of these tales and the sense of returning to one’s roots.

“We are so proud to tip a hat to Kentucky on this album, and embrace being ambassadors of the South,” Tapp concludes, bringing the journey of ‘The Southern’ full circle—a heartfelt tribute to the land and stories that shaped them.

EU/UK tour dates:
Tickets HERE

23 Aug – Sønderborghus    Sonderborg, Denmark
24 Aug – Karosserifabrikken, Helsingør, Denmark
25 Aug – Music Star, Norderstedt, Germany
26 Aug – Music Star, Norderstedt, Germany
27 Aug – Hafenbar Tegel, Berlin, Germany
29 Aug – Musiktheater Piano, Dortmund, Germany
31 Aug – Ropetackle Arts Centre, Shoreham, UK
1 Sep – Sunflower Lounge, Birmingham, UK
3 Sep – The 1865, Southampton, UK
4 Sep – New Cross Inn, London, UK
5 Sep – The Bourne Music Club, Sittingbourne, UK
6 Sep UK – TBA, TBA, UK
7 Sep – UK – TBA, TBA, UK
8 Sep -UK – TBA, TBA, UK

The Cold Stares – “Horse To Water” (Official Lyric Video)

The Southern Artwork

1. Horse to Water
2. Coming Home
3. Looking For A Fight
4. Blow Wind Blow
5. Confession
6. Level Floor Blues
7. Seven Ways to Sundown
8. No Love in the City Anymore
9. Giving It Up
10. Woman
11. Mortality Blues

The Cold Stares Online