THE CHRONICLES OF MANIMAL AND SAMARA reveal stunning new single – Pound of Flesh


UK progressive metallers, THE CHRONICLES OF MANIMAL AND SAMARA, have released their next single and video, Pound of Flesh –, together with their new album, Trust No Leaders, out now.

Since their inception in 2022, THE CHRONICLES OF MANIMAL AND SAMARA (TCOMAS) have established themselves as a formidable collaborative, breaking new ground in the way they combine progressive music, poetry, and vision. Drawing inspiration from many sources stemming from Tool through to Kraftwerk and Russian Circles, as well as absorbing the poetry of Virginia Woolf and Jim Morrison in their lyrics, TCOMAS fills a gap in music by bringing literature, theatre, and history, fusing rock and metal, with their signature, ‘poetry performance’.

After the release of their debut album Full Spectrum in February 2021, the duo focused on writing more new music. Trust No Leaders was recorded between April and August 2021 at their studio in Camden Town, London, culminating in eleven songs that weave their way through the history of heavy metal from the new wave of British metal to the present.

The album has already received widespread media publicity, radio airplay, and film festival nominations from the release of five well-received singles and music videos, Count the Dead, The Prophet, Nothing but Dust, The Chefs Song, and most recently, Shaman. The band are set to release their next single and video, Pound of Flesh, together with their new album, Trust No Leaders, on Friday 1st July. The duo remark about the motivation behind, Pound Of Flesh: “A synthesis of Djent and Thrash Metal, ‘Pound of Flesh’ combines elements of South American folk music with soundscapes evocative of the atmospheric scores of film composer, Ennio Morricone.  The influence behind the track comes from Shakespeare’s play ‘Merchant of Venice’, the title of the track, ‘Pound of Flesh’, refers to something that is owed, that needs to be paid back (revenge).”

With the digital and physical release of their sophomore album Trust No Leaders, THE CHRONICLES OF MANIMAL AND SAMARA are set to continue to engage and capture more minds and hearts with their ethos — Look back into the past for insight, but also remember to look into the future with foresight.

Trust No Leaders, album track listing: 1. Human Sacrifice, 2. The Prophet, 3. Pound of Flesh, 4. Shaman, 5. The Chefs Song, 6. The Pied Piper, 7. Nothing but Dust, 8. Count the Dead, 9. Smell of Your Rot, 10. Hypermetamorphosis, 11. Scum of the Land.