LOS ANGELES, CA (September 22, 2023) – Multi-platinum rock band, Staind has released their long-waited new album, Confessions of the Fallen, available today via Alchemy Recordings/BMG on all music platforms. Buy/stream album HERE

Confessions of the Fallen – Staind’s first new studio album since 2011 – cranks into life with the band’s signature sound that is both familiar and fresh.

The hallmarks of the sound the band established close to 30 years ago are all there — Aaron Lewis’ vocals flexing from melodic keening to a hellacious roar, Mike Mushok’s ferocious guitar muscling the track forward, Johnny April and Sal Giancarelli propelling it with industrial-strength energy. But sliding through are some new touches, electronic flavorings that give the song, as well as the rest of the 10-track album, a refreshed and contemporary sensibility, letting us know that it’s still Staind but that Staind has not been in a time capsule since its self-titled effort in 2011.

“To say this has been a long time in the making is an understatement,” says founder and lead vocalist Aaron Lewis. “The way we made this record was unlike any record we’ve ever made. Typically, we’d spend 6 months together in a studio, but with this record we were sending ideas back and forth. It allowed us time for the songs to marinate and mature, and in the end it’s given us a record I’m really happy with. I’ve been sitting on some of these lyrics for a while, keeping them from what I do in my solo career. It’s great to finally be able to share them with our fans.”

“I feel like one of the goals in making the new record was to try and modernize our sound,” adds guitarist Mike Mushok. “Aaron wanted to incorporate an electronic element in the music and I feel like Erik Ron really helped bring that out. I’m so proud of the new songs and feel like we’ve accomplished our goal of making a Staind album in 2023 that still sounds like Staind but gives the fans something new as well.”

Staind is currently finalizing 2024 tour plans and exploring ideas for more new music.

“It has been a really great experience to be on the road playing new material,” says Mike. “It breathes a whole new life into the set and it’s very exciting having new songs to play. I feel like it’s been embraced by our audience beacuse the reaction has been awesome.”

The 10 tracks featured on Confessions of the Fallen explore a variety of sonic niches. Debut single “Lowest In Me” (which reached #1 at Active Rock), “Cycle of Hurting, “Was Any of it Real?” and “Hate Me Too” pummel forth with unrelenting fury, the electronics enhancing the frenetic attack from the players. Tracks such as “Out of Time,” “In This Condition” and “The Fray” are marked by ebb-and-flow arrangements and sweeping dynamic changes, while “Here and Now” and the cautiously optimistic “Better Days” remind us that Staind is no stranger to the pretty – when appropriate, that is.

Buy/stream album HERE

Confessions of the Fallen Track Listing:

  1. Lowest In Me
  2. Was Any of it Real?
  3. Here and Now
  4. In This Condition
  5. Out of Time
  6. Cycle of Hurting
  7. The Fray
  8. Better Days
  9. Hate Me Too

10.Confessions of the Fallen

Credit: Steve Thrasher

 About Staind

STAIND is comprised of lead vocalist and rhythm guitarist Aaron Lewis, lead guitarist Mike Mushok, bassist and backing vocalist Johnny April, and drummer Sal Giancarelli. The band was formed in 1995 in their hometown of Springfield, Massachusetts. Over the course of their career, the band has released seven studio albums and eight Top 10 singles, selling over 15 million albums worldwide.  Break The Cycle, released in 2001 and RIAA certified 5x platinum, featured the smash single, “It’s Been Awhile,” one of the most played songs in modern rock radio history, spending 20 weeks at Number 1. In 2019 after a five-year hiatus, STAIND reunited for some unforgettable festival performances, and a hometown reunion show that was recorded for the live album, Live: It’s Been Awhile. STAIND will release their new studio album, their first in twelve years, Confessions of the Fallen in September 2023.