Seattle Melodic Death Metal Band VERITERAS to Release The Dark Horizon on April 11

Seattle Melodic Death Metal Band VERITERAS to Release The Dark Horizon on April 11

Seattle (WA) – Melodic Death Metal quartet VERITERAS will release sophomore full-length album, The Dark Horizon, on April 11. A lyric video for the album’s first single, “Abyss,” will be released on March 14.

“The Dark Horizon really leans in on our old school melodic death metal roots, and as a result has a more blackened melodic death metal sound compared to our previous release, Shadow of Death. There’s more tremelo picking, more blast beats, but still holding on to a very melodic core. We’re very happy with how the album ended up, and we grew a ton through the process. The songwriting is more mature, the lyrics are stronger because Sean wrote most of them instead of me, the musicianship is better, and the mix is fantastic. We’re all super excited to be sharing this album with the world, and hope you enjoy listening to it as much as we enjoyed making it!”

– Santtu Winter (Veriteras)

In support of the album VERITERAS will be hitting the road with Finland’s Event Relentless for the nine-city PNW U.S. Tour!” Dates are as follows:

4/18 Bellingham, WA @ The Shakedown

4/19 Bremerton, WA @ The Charleston

4/20 Spokane, WA @ Jackson Street Bar

4/21 Richland, WA @ Ray’s Golden Lion

4/23 Boise, ID @ The Shredder

4/24 Bend, OR @ Silver Moon Brewery

4/25 Portland, OR @ Mano Occulta

4/26 Olympia, WA @ The Crypt

4/27 Seattle, WA @ The Funhouse


Track Listing:

1 – Certainty

2 – Celestial Darkness

3 – Abyss

4 – Last Rites

5 – Sanctuary

6 – Manufactured Dreams

7 – Blinding

8 – Retrograde

9 – Light in the Darkness

Album Credits:

Music written and arranged by Santtu Winter and Veriteras.

Songs “Retrograde” and “Blinding” written and arranged by Sean Osterberg and Santtu Winter.

 Lyrics by Sean Osterberg and Santtu Winter. Bass written and recorded by Matthew Kirkwold at Meow Sounds.

Solos written and recorded by Major Bruno (first solo on “Sanctuary”), Eligio Tapia (second solo on “Sanctuary”), and Adonis Reed-Boulos (“Blinding”).

Vocals on “Light in the Darkness” by Maria Mannisto. Tambourine performed by Jeff Smith (bassist emeritus and first-chair tambourinist).

Recorded by Don Gunn at The Office Studio in Seattle in July 2023.

Mixed and Mastered by Dan Swanö at Unisound Studio in Germany between August and November 2023.

Album artwork by Sean Osterberg.

Tour poster credit: Nicole Dobbins

Band photo credit: J. Donovan Malley


Veriteras is an old-school melodic death metal band based in Seattle, Washington (U.S.). Formed in 2018, they are inspired by the Scandinavian melodic death scene (early-era In Flames, Dark Tranquillity, Kalmah, etc.), and strive to write heavy songs with powerful and memorable melodies. After releasing two EPs in 2020 (Banished) and 2021 (Citadel), they debuted their first LP Shadow of Death in 2022, and toured Finland in support of the album. Now they are proud to present their follow-up LP, The Dark Horizon, in April 2024.


Santtu Winter: Guitar

Sean Osterberg: Guitar and Vocals

Jason Gooselaw: Drums

Major Bruno: Bass

Veriteras on Spotify