Scottish Punks COLD YEARS Celebrate The Release Of New Album, ‘Goodbye To Misery’ with music video for, ‘Jane’!

Scottish punks COLD YEARS celebrate the release of new album, ‘Goodbye To Misery’, with music video for, ‘Jane’!

‘Goodbye To Misery’ is out today on Inside Job/MNRK


Aberdeen trio, Cold Years, have today released their new album, ‘Goodbye To Misery‘, on Inside Job/MNRK.

The ambitious follow-up to the acclaimed debut, Paradise (2020), was recorded by Neil Kennedy (Creeper, Boston Manor), Goodbye To Misery is 12 tracks born out of the want for a more positive future rather than the self-destruction and misery of its predecessor. “This record is us saying you can break away from those things that are bringing you down,” frontman Ross Gordon explains. “Its about standing up for yourself and not letting anybody tell you what you should or shouldnt be doing. Its a defiant statement.”

In addition to the album release, today Cold Years also release the music video for the poppy new single, Hey Jane.’ “Everyone has a Jane,” Gordon says. “Whether its a partner, a friend, a place, a cat or a dog — like its this person or thing or place that is with you no matter what. And you sometimes never feel good enough for them/it but it doesnt matter.”

COLD YEARS – ‘Jane’ (Official Music Video)


This was probably coming. The dam was surely always going to break. Had you listened to Ross Gordon speak over the past few years, read between the lines of his lyrics, or paid attention to the more seething moments of Cold Years’ 2020 acclaimed debut album Paradise, you could have predicted that something had to give. As the incendiary spirit of the band’s new album Goodbye To Misery attests, “something” might be an understatement.

Everything has changed. This is the sound of the fight-or-flight kicking in, of deciding that enough is enough, and the trio — completed by guitarist Finlay Urquhart and bassist Louis Craighead — demanding better. Most importantly, it’s them doing something about it all. The time for pissing and moaning is done. As Gordon succinctly puts it, “Im not self-destructive or miserable anymore.”

Of the 12 new songs that make up the record, only three were written in Aberdeen as Gordon picked up and moved to Glasgow to escape the suffocating environment he’s called home for his entire life. The tracks came out in a flurry of big city inspiration while Gordon, like millions of others in the UK, found himself on furlough. Because yes, the shadow that looms large over this story is the same one that continues to colour almost every aspect of all our daily lives. Forced, by lockdown, to share ideas with Craighead and Urquhart over email instead of letting things percolate in pubs over pints like they used to, the songs on Goodbye To Misery naturally shaped up in brand new ways. Infused with new energy and new feelings, the band decided to explore those impulses, stepping out of their collective comfort zones in the process. As Gordon says, “its a fucking punk rock record,” with a freewheeling spirit and fearless attitude to boot.

If you’ve ever wondered if there’s something better out there, suspected that this can’t be all that there is, or felt that you deserve more in life, Goodbye To Misery is a record that will resonate hard. You can stay where you are and grind yourself into despair, or you can go out and get what you deserve. Because the world owes you no favours. There aren’t going to be any saviours rising from these streets. Blazing with fury, regret, addiction and defiance, Cold Years pull on all these threads with aplomb. They cover relationships and societal issues. It gets deeply personal yet offers a universal call to arms. Among all this newfound optimism and positivity, there’s also more legitimate rage and rebellion than you’ll find on most modern punk records. Rest assured, Cold Years are still firmly kicking against the pricks. If anything, they sound even more riled than ever. Understandable, given the many reasons to be.

I couldn’t give a fuck whats going to happen to me when I’m 65,” Gordon says. “You need to live life in the moment. You need to take chances. And that was something I was always scared to do. But I’m not scared anymore.”


19 – BERLIN Frannz Club
21 – HAMBURG Headcrash
22 – COLOGNE Blue ShellJUNE
18 – VINCENZA Bocciodromo *
19 – MILAN Legend Club *
20 – FRIBOURG Noveau Monde*
21 – ZURICH Dynamo *
23 – BERLIN Privatclub *
24 – WARSAW Klub HYdrozagadka *
25 – WROCLAW Akademia *
26 – POZNAN Ubazyla *
28 – PRAGUE Lucerna Music Bar *
29 – LEIPZIG Conne Island *
30 – DARMSTADT Oetinger Villa *JULY
01 – HAMBURG Hafenklang *
02 – ENKIRCH Fallig Open Air
05 – PARIS La Maroquinerie *
06 – ANTWERP Kavka Oudaan *
09 – CHELTENHAM 2000 Trees Festival
30 – SCHROBENHAUSEN Noise Hausen Festival
06 – KOENIGSTEIN Rock auf der burg

24 – HAMBURG Unter den Brucken Festival

20 – OBERHAUSEN Radio Bob Rocknacht

(* w/ Laura Jane Grace)