PSYGNOSIS announce new album and release first track ‘Öpik-Oort’

PSYGNOSIS announce new album and release first track
Share Share
Tweet Tweet
Forward Forward
Pin Pin
Instrumental Prog quartet PSYGNOSIS are proud to announce their brand new album “Mercury”, which will be released on September 15, 2023 via Season of Mist! This beautiful album reveals a whole different approach on extreme metal with different elements, of which one stands out the most: the band is forgoing a traditional vocalist and instead incorporate classical dearest instrument – the cello, adding a haunting and melodic element to their atmospheric extreme metal sound.

To celebrate the birth of their album, the band are now releasing the brand new track ‘Öpik-Oort’, which comes in the form of an emotional music video. Check it out via the Season of Mist YouTube channel HERE. The link may be freely spread throughout your channels.

Pre-orders are now available HERE. Pre-save the album HERE.

PSYGNOSIS comment on the new track: “Dear Aliens 👽, After a long wait, we are happy to present to you this first track ÖPIK-OORT from our next album MERCURY. We hope you will enjoy it as much as we do!
This album will be released on September 15th by Season of Mist and we can’t wait for you to discover it !”


Psygnosis –  Öpik-Oort (official music video) 2023
PSYGNOSIS have furthermore released other album details of “Mercury” such as the track-list and artwork. All info can be found below.
Cover artwork by Okiko
Track list:
1. Öpik-Oort (12:33) [WATCH]
2. Eclipse (10:38)
3. Sunshine (08:57)
4. Caloris Basin (08:43)
5. Uranometria (15:27)
Total: 56:18
Photo credits: Philippe Parickmiler – Daynightpicture
Genre: Atmospheric Extreme Metal

PSYGNOSIS is a project started in 2009 by Rémi Vanhove, who was eager to gather all of his musical influences into one entity. A first solo EP, “Phrases”, was released in June 2009 and lays the foundations of PSYGNOSIS’ music: an atmospheric extreme Metal with hints of electronic music. Rémi then surrounded himself with a second guitarist, a bassist and a singer, and continues to program the drums himself.

The first album “Anti-Sublime” was released in January 2012 and allowed the band to continue the artistic process started with “Phrases”. This release also marked the first encounters of the quartet with the public. After the EP “Sublimation” in 2013, Psygnosis came out with a second album in 2014. “Human Be[ing]” shows that the band has gained in maturity, through better digested influences and compositions whose structures become more complex.

The year 2015 marks an important change for PSYGNOSIS: The band made the radical choice to become instrumental by recruiting Raphaël Verguin as a cellist. A first EP “AAliens” followed, followed up by the full length “Neptune” in 2017, an ambitious opus of one hour and seventeen minutes inviting the listeners to travel to the ends of the Solar System.

Despite the instrumental aspect, PSYGNOSIS continues to assert its first intention: that of a Metal mixing nervous riffs, blast beats and atmospheric ambiences. The meeting of Rémi and Raphaël with the guitarist Elise Masliah and the drummer Thomas Crémier enables the quartet to stabilize its formation and to defend on stage PSYGNOSIS’ intense and emotional music.

Track list:
1. Öpik-Oort (12:33)
2. Eclipse (10:38)
3. Sunshine (08:57)
4. Caloris Basin (08:43)
5. Uranometria (15:27)
Total: 56:18

Thomas Crémier : Drums, Sound Engineer
Elise Masliah : Guitar
Rémi Vanhove : Guitar, Sound Design
Raphaël Verguin : Cello

Recording Studio: 
Cello recorded by Raphaël Verguin
All other instruments recorded by Thomas Crémier at SoundBlast Studios

Thomas Crémier at SoundBlast Studios

Cover artwork: Okiko


2×12″ Vinyl Gatefold in various colours