A gentle, mystical record….A thing of beauty, with Simon sounding as if he’s discovered a new way of thinking, a new meaning to life” – 5* Record Collector

“A remarkable album” – 5* The Times

“What a gem….The music bridges mysticism and melodicism” 5* – The Financial Times

“A masterpiece…This is the sound of life in all of its wonder, candour and gratitude – and not yet done”  4* MOJO

“It draws together several recurring themes in his lyrics: religious imagery, secular hymns, reflections on death….Magnificent– Uncut

“His mercurial talent shines as bright as ever…Beautiful, spiritual, profound”
– 4.5* The Sun

“Popular music’s premier poet of the human condition. This album underlines his mastery and depth” – 4* Metro

Paul Simon has consistently crafted some of the most influential music in the history of music – from his early classics to the pioneering ‘Graceland’ right through to his previous collection of original material, 2016’s UK #1 album ‘Stranger To Stranger’. Today, Paul Simon releases ‘Seven Psalms’ which has been hailed by MOJO as a “masterpiece”, UNCUT as magnificent”The Times as “remarkable” and Record Collector’s 5* review named it “a thing of beauty”. LISTEN HERE.

A step apart from anything Paul Simon has released before, ‘Seven Psalms’ defies categorisation. The record is a continuous 33-minute piece of music, a journey which consists of seven interlinked segments. It’s a record which establishes an engaging and meditative, almost hymnal ambience, with Paul’s vocals at the top of an acoustic arrangement. Predominantly performed by Paul, the record is seasoned with esoteric percussion instruments, choral elements from the Grammy-nominated British vocal ensemble VOCES8, and a beautiful vocal appearance by Edie Brickell.

Watch HERE  for a glimpse into Paul’s inspiration and process in finding Seven Psalms.

True to the origin of psalms as hymns meant to be sung rather than spoken, Seven Psalms reaches back to the very genesis of folk music: King David’s Psalms. The result is a quietly moving musical experience which uncovers a wealth of subtle details with every repeated listen. Lyrically, Paul’s philosophical musings also provide plenty for fans to unpack and reflect upon.

The record’s tone is complemented by its artwork, which features a close-up extract of ‘Two Owls’ by the celebrated landscape artist Thomas Moran.

‘Seven Psalms’ is Paul Simon’s first album project since releasing ‘In The Blue Light’ in 2018 – which was a collection of re-imaginings of the artist’s favourite deep cuts from his vast back catalogue; the album debuted in the UK Top 10. While Paul Simon retired from touring in 2018, his surprise performance at last year’s Newport Jazz Festival proved to be one of the most memorable moments in the event’s history.

Produced by Paul Simon and Kyle Crusham, Seven Psalms is comprised of the following seven interlinked movements:

  1. ‘The Lord’
  2. ‘Love Is Like A Braid’
  3. ‘My Professional Opinion’
  4. ‘Your Forgiveness’
  5. ‘Trail Of Volcanoes’
  6. ‘The Sacred Harp’
  7. ‘Wait’
‘Seven Psalms’ is released on vinyl, and as a 33-minute single-track on CD, streaming and download formats via Owl Records and Legacy Recordings, a division of Sony Music Entertainment.
Photo Credit: Myrna Suarez
Follow Paul Simon:
Website | Spotify | Apple Music | YouTube | Facebook | Instagram | TikTok