Paint It Black release Famine on Revelation Records

Paint It Black release Famine on Revelation Records

Photo Credit: Danika Zandboer

STREAM: Famine
PURCHASE: Famine 12”
WATCH: “Famine” (Official Video)

“From the very first lyric (‘This is the America of fable’), you can tell that this album is a reflection of the bleak world it’s being released into, with all the anger, frustration, and hopelessness that comes with it.”BrooklynVegan

“That is the beauty of a band such as Paint It Black: they write the way they want to and are not afraid to mix things up to keep things feeling fresh.” Distorted Sound

“It’s a collection of songs that locates his [Yemin’s] own footing inside of the chaos of the modern world. It touches on his hopes and his needs, and crucially, allows for a little bit of tenderness.”Anti-Matter

“The song ‘Famine’ is a short, commanding burst with a whole lot on its mind.” Stereogum

Vital, urgent, vulnerable, fast, honest, concise – these are all words that capture Famine, the new release from Paint It Black out today on Revelation Records. Marking their first new body of music in ten years, the lauded Philadelphia band craft incisive statements that meld hardcore’s fury with a nuanced lyrical perspective. Themes navigate the narrative between myth and the truth, rebuking against religious fundamentalism, constitutional originalism, and the very concept of policing. The eight tracks burst with powerful unrest, vocalist Daniel Yemin feverishly delivers every word as bassist Andy Nelson, guitarist Josh Agran, and drummer Jared Shavelson sway between groove-driven melodies and pummeling resound. Famine was recorded with Jack Shirley at The Atomic Garden in Oakland, CA (Deafheaven, Gouge Away).

Famine can be streamed HERE and limited copies of a second vinyl pressing are available through Revelation Records.

Paint It Black will celebrate the release with two hometown shows at the First Unitarian Church in Philadelphia, PA this weekend. Support for the sold-out 11/4 show comes from with support from Pegboy, Radiator Hospital, and The HIRS Collective and 11/5 is The Messthetics, Spaced, Raskol, tickets on sale here.

Famine Tracklist:

1. Famine

2. Dominion

3. Safe

4. Exploitation Period

5. Serf City, U.S.A.

6. The Unreasonable Silence

7. Namesake

8. City of the Dead

Upcoming Shows:

11/4 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church w/ Pegboy, Radiator Hospital, HIRS Collective

11/5 – Philadelphia, PA @ First Unitarian Church w/ The Messthetics, Spaced, Raskol