Outline In Color Share Brisk New Video For ‘Stay Away,’ Featuring Benny Scholl Of AVOID

Outline In Color Share Brisk New Video For ‘Stay Away,’ Featuring Benny Scholl Of AVOID


Post-hardcore band, Outline In Color are sharing their enigmatic new video for “Stay Away” on February 22 via Thriller Records. The track features AVOID lead vocalist, Benny Scholl.

Screen Shot 2023-02-22 at 12.14.52 PM

Preview the video here

“Stay Away” transitions in from a frenzied introduction to a descending first verse. The track produces waves of powerful melodies that intertwine with an overall ambiguous tone. Lead vocalist’s Michael Skaggs and Benny Scholl feed off each other’s chaotic energy making for electrifying chemistry. The video’s frigid visual highlights an intense atmosphere.

““Stay Away” is about knowing in your heart you don’t have the strength to defend yourself from the people that take advantage of you. There are some people that are hopelessly toxic and will only continue to hurt and abuse you as long as you let them. Stay away from those people.” Says the band about the track.


Coast Is Clear intertwines cool undertones with contrasting frantic hooks. Chaos ensues from the second the tracks hit, displaying an array of distressing yet crisp vocals throughout. The record draws fans in, producing addicting sounds on a vast scale to collect new listeners into their fanbase. The album features Loveless, Michael Swank, AVOID, and Chris Roetter and was produced by Hiram Hernandez and Andrew Baylis.

“A decade of writing about our daily lives has led us here, to what feels like the beginning of our career. With an opportunity to finally share our most personal experiences with the world. This record is a reflection of our feelings during the pandemic, our stories from life on the road and personal struggles we faced to make it to this point. We hope this collection of songs will serve as a history book for the underdogs. The people who stay in the shadows from their own insecurities. The artists who wake up daily with an overwhelming feeling of imposter syndrome. We hope to serve as a looking glass into taking control of your own destiny and staying true to who you are. The album is a painting of our journey to realizing ourselves, our realization that the coast is clear.” Says the band about the album

Coast Is Clear Tracklisting

1. “Coast Is Clear”
2. “Super Ego”
3. Bitter
4. “Tear Me Down”
5. Fight Fair
6. Do Your Worst” (Featuring Loveless)
7. Quicksand” (Featuring Michael Swank)
8. “Bite My Tongue”
9. “Get Free”
10. “Stay Away” (Featuring AVOID)
11. “Toss The Match” (Featuring Chris Roetter)
12. “Bury My Thoughts”
13. “Ghost of You”

About Outline In Color: Claiming influence from such varied acts as Senses Fail, The Used, Scary Kids Scaring Kids, Blink-182, Alkaline Trio, Halifax, and CKY, Outline in Color seamlessly blends elements of hard rock, metal, nu-metal, pop, and R&B. The vocals are heavily laden with soulful singing and tastefully peppered with screaming and backing vocals, and the music features both rhythmic grooves and atmospheric ambience. The totality is a genre-blurring experience that gifts the listener with melodies that linger and beg to be heard again. Outline In Color have built a collective local fanbase with other promising bands to give the doubting promoters a reason to take a chance on them. Outgrowing their local scene they helped build, the band began touring more extensively, playing festivals such as SXSW and SO WHAT?!, and ultimately headlining their own tours overseas in the UK, Japan, and Australia. The band went through the growing pains that many do, including lineup changes that decentralized the band with members around the country. All the while as Outline in Color branched out, In their strongest line-up yet, the current four members were all present in the band back in 2009, and the band is recentered back in Tulsa. They can finally really take delight in the scene they took a small hand creating, in their hometown, and in the band they grew to become. Sometimes it just takes the right people and a healthy dose of heart.
After having released Imposter Syndrome in July 2020, Outline in Color has a sequel EP, Imposter Syndrome 2, already recorded by August and ready for release, two covers scheduled to be recorded in August and September, and a collaborative trap metal track to record with Dropout Kings. The band is ready to retour the world as soon as live shows are again allowed.

Outline In Color are:
Michael Skaggs, vocals:
Jonathan Grimes, bass/vocals
CJ Cochran, guitar
Austin McFerrin, drums

Keep up with Outline In Color: SpotifyFacebookTwitterInstagram and TikTok