New Witherfall Album “Sounds of the Forgotten” out Today

New Witherfall Album “Sounds of the Forgotten”
 out May 31, 2024

Los Angeles-based dark melodic metal outfit Witherfall proudly presents their fourth full-length album “Sounds of the Forgotten“, out May 31st 2024 via Deathwave Records.

Band Quote:

“The long wait is over, the cds and vinyls are in the mail or in your hands. We proudly present to you the final piece from our latest album, the title track “Sounds of the Forgotten”.”

“What started out as a dreamy acoustic guitar passage turned into an epic arena rock-metal-prog anthem.  Another nod to our darker influences from the 90s including bands like Type O Negative and Alice In Chains. This track was the inspiration for the theme of the album cover. The dark and majestic Purple can almost be heard  in the somber waterway that leads our tragic figure downstream to the glowing moon. Please post your thoughts online regarding the album. it took many months and much of our sanity to bring this work to you. We hope you enjoy it. Until the next one…”

Joseph, Jake, Anthony, Chris & Gerry

Listen to the song and watch the music video here.

Watch all Witherfall official videos

Sounds of the Forgotten Credits
Produced by Zeuss, Joseph Michael & Jake Dreyer
All Songs by Joseph Michael Furney & Jacob D Dreyer
Release label DeathWave Records


1. They Will Let You Down
2. Where Do I Begin
3. A Lonely Path
4. Insidious
5. Ceremony Of Fire
6. Sounds Of The Forgotten
7. Aftermath
8. When It All Falls Away
9. Opulent
10. What Have You Done

Pre-order the album/stream and buy merch here:
Formats CD/Black Vinyl/Limited Colored Vinyl Packages

Witherfall was formed in Los Angeles in 2013. Joseph Michael (also of Sanctuary fame) and Jake Dreyer (ex-Iced Earth/Demons & Wizards) built their new band around drummer Adam Sagan (RIP) and accomplished bassist Anthony Crawford (Allan Holdsworth, CHON). Since then, the group have released three highly regarded albums: Nocturnes and Requiems (2017), A Prelude to Sorrow (2018), and Curse of Autumn (2021) and an ep Vintage (2019). Not one to cut corners, Witherfall enlisted famed drummer Marco Minnemann (The Aristocrats, Steven Wilson) on Curse of Autumn, ensuring the foundations of singles “As I Lie Awake,” “The Other Side of Fear,” and “The River” were second to none. On the upcoming album, Minnemann returns to the fold with an album-only appearance, while drummer Chris Tsaganeas (Wax Owls) and multi-instrumentalist Gerry Hirschfeld (Willie Nelson) Witherfall’s newest permanent members.

Every Witherfall album is a defining moment. From the moment Nocturnes and Requiems thundered across metaldom to the group’s wine endeavors (Tempest Red Blend) with Charlie & Echo Winery, their video collaboration with Cig Neutron (Devil’s Workshop) on “The Other Side of Fear,” a beer partnership with Adroit Theory Brewing Company (Shadows Black IPA), and custom Funko Pop set, Michael and Dreyer have made Witherfall their mission. The journey to this point hasn’t been without toil and upheaval. Determination, however, is the key.

Witherfall are guitarist/songwriter Jake Dreyer, vocalist/songwriter Joseph Michael, bassist Anthony Crawford, drummer Marco Minnemann (recording only), drummer/percussionist Chris Tsaganeas, and keyboardist Gerry Hirschfeld.

Deathwave Records was created by Witherfall headmen Joseph Michael and Jake Dreyer as a vehicle for their music and other projects. Look for more exciting and trailblazing releases from Deathwave Records in the future.

Follow WITHERFALL online:
Website | Instagram | Facebook | TikTok