Mork reveal ‘Tilbake Til Opprinnelsen’, the second offering from new album ‘Dypet’



 (photo credit: Necroshorns)




Following the first single of ‘Bortgang’, Mork reveal ‘Tilbake Til Opprinnelsen’ the second offering of ‘Dypet’


Representing a musical journey that reveals more as the track goes on, ‘Tilbake Til Opprennilsen’ begins with melancholic Black Metal tones that are accompanied by an eerie synth theme, which as Thomas Eriksen describes “is representative of the nerves running through the earth.” 

The concept of regeneration is key to idea of the song which continues to gather momentum until the atmospheric breakdown which is a sonic representation of the beginning of the rebirth. 

Eriksen mentions: 

“ ‘Tilbake Til Opprinnelsen’ is an epic track about the world as a whole regretting everything it has made and become, resulting in it erasing everything on its own to then rebuild it all from scratch. The breakdown represents the shift. where the world starts to retract everything and everyone. The high point is when the vocal choir sets in. That is when the oceans are filled, rivers are made, mountains are raised, and the moon is hung upon the night sky yet again. A fitting epic to finish off the album.”

Accompanying the single comes a visualiser created by Matthew Vickerstaff. 

‘Tilbake Til Opprinnelsen’ is out now on all streaming platforms.

‘Dypet’ sees Mork create a miasma of grim and frost-bitten riffs and harsh vocal melodies, marking the next logical evolution to come from the brilliant mind of Thomas Eriksen. The album simultaneously pushes new ideas forward yet still retains the signature foundations of ice cold hypnotic Black Metal.

Eriksen comments “It is with great pride that I am able to present and experience the release of my sixth full length album. I put every single drop of myself into the process of shaping MORK’s music. Perhaps even more so with this new album. As the album title, which translates to “The Deep”, something from the depths has been brought to the surface, “Dypet” was inspired by my life over the last couple of years, the thoughts, feelings, passion and the evolving of creative free will. Dive in and let yourself sink into the abyss. “

The album also features a special guest appearance from HJELVIK, the former singer of fellow Nordic legends Kverlertak, on ‘Hoye Murer’. It also delves into the world of analogue synth’s adding a different but no less hellish soundscape to Mork’s palette.

‘Dypet’, Norwegian for ‘abyss’ promises to ring true to its name delivering eight brand new tracks that feature Thomas Eriksen’s signature Black Metal howls and caustic guitars. The album was once more performed, recorded and mixed by Eriksen with engineering assisted by Freddy Holm whilst mastering was carried out by Jack Control at Enormous Door (Darkthrone).

 David Thiérrée also makes his return now on his third collaboration with Mork. His artwork that has become just as synonymous with Mork’s sound. The piece is inspired by the album’s theme of “Draugen/Cthulhu”; also featured within the art is a crest created by Jannicke Wiese-Hansen.

The inspiration behind the album’s title track lies in H.P. Lovecraft’s Cthulhu Mythos but with a Nordic twist. Using the Norwegian coastline as it’s setting, the artwork illustrates a mysterious cult that now worships the ‘Draugen’ (a mythical sea ghost in Norwegian lore) paying homage to the sea dwelling beast of Cthulhu.

‘Dypet’ is not a concept album and the themes of hatred, death, betrayal, inner demons and misanthropy will find fans of Black Metal right at home.

Dypet will be released on Peaceville Records on 24th March on the following formats which are available to pre-order here:

  • CD (Digipak)
  • Limited edition silver coloured vinyl LP in a heavy-duty gatefold sleeve
  • Black LP in a heavy-duty gatefold sleeve
  • Digital

Handsigned copies of both the silver & regular LPs will be available exclusively on the Mork band store which you can pick up right here ( fans will need to be quick to secure one of these in demand items.

Mork will be supporting the release of Dypet with live shows and festival appearances, the following have been confirmed so far with more to come

01 April – Rockeklubben,  Porsgrunn, Norway

06 April – Inferno Metal Festival, Oslo, Norway

30 April – Walpurgirnacht Festival, Berlin, Germany

13 – 15 July – In Flammen Open Air, Germany

09 August – Brutal Assault, Jaromer, Czech Repbulic

Stay tuned for updates


Created in 2004 by Thomas Eriksen, Mork have released a total of five albums and was primarily a side-project from it’s inception. Many years later in 2013 the band’s debut album ‘Isebakke’ was released and since then there’s been a steady flow of releases and live performances. With that the band have earned the accolade of one of the top Norwegian black metal acts of recent years with strong endorsements from their peers.