Metalcore band Serration announce Simulations of Hell LP out September 15th on DAZE

Metalcore band Serration announce Simulations of Hell LP out September 15th on DAZE

Share chaotic new single and video “Shroud Of Gnarled Tongues”

Photo Credit: Ian Enger

WATCH: “Shroud Of Gnarled Tongues”
STREAM: “Shroud Of Gnarled Tongues”

“A wickedly heavy slice of metalcore that leans into the tangled stylings of bands like Botch and Zao, while still providing the heart-on-sleeve catchiness of a group like Poison the Well.” Revolver

Canadian metalcore band Serration have announced their new album, Simulations Of Hell, set for release September 15th on DAZE. Having teased fans earlier this year with “A Suicide Note in Midi Format” featuring Emma Boster (Dying Wish), today the band shares the second single from the record, “Shroud Of Gnarled Tongues.” The bone-crushing track is chaos unleashed as vocalist Cody Dewald’s frenzied screams meet mad scientist riffs written by drummer Colter James. The drums themselves invoke a feeling of anxiousness, and this translates to the video for the song as clips of the band performing splice through a red, black, and white color palette.

Diving into the lyrics, Dewald explains:

“This track is pointed at people that have no pity for others, burning every bridge and having zero guilt about it along the way.”

Formed in 2018 to write “Turmoil worship” Serration have been seeing a steady rise in the metal and hardcore scene. The band broke out that year with the release of their EP, Shrine of Eternal Life, followed by the aforementioned split with Dying Wish, and 2019’s Ease Yourself Back Into Consciousness. This lead the band on tours with Morality Rate and Wristmeetrazor. When the pandemic struck in 2020, the band teamed up with Wax Vessel to put their two EPs plus an additional single to vinyl, resulting in the compilation Shrine of Consciousness. Fast forward to 2022 and Serration shared a teaser single “Joy Of Creation” through DAZE and began writing and recording what would become Simulations of Hell. Taking influence from early metalcore bands like 7 Angels 7 Plagues and Misery Signals as well as Y2K era horror video games, you’ll hear heavy riffs and fevered screams cut through by beautiful interludes. The album is punishing and introspective, ranging on topics from brainwashing to worshiping materialistic items to feelings of guilt. The result is eight insane and expressive songs that boost Serration as a standout act in the world of metalcore.

Simulations Of Hell was produced, mixed, and mastered by Jordan Chase at Oodelally Recordings in Kelowna, BC. The album is available for preorder now through DAZE.

Serration is Cody Dewald – Vocals, Jake Braben – Guitar, Jose Flores – Guitar, Matt Wischlinksi – Bass, and Colter James – Drums.

Simulations Of Hell Tracklist:

1. Boreal Serpent

2. A Suicide Note in Midi Format featuring Emma Boster (Dying Wish)

3. Dried Flowers Bathed in Tears

4. Shroud of Gnarled Tongues

5. Chaos Daemon

6. Altar of Guilt featuring David Blom (Sanction)

7. Of The Shapes of Humans and Hearts

8. Simulations of Hell