Melodic Death Metal Masters BEFORE THE DAWN Announce Comeback Album, “Stormbringers”

Melodic Death Metal Masters BEFORE THE DAWN Announce Comeback Album, Stormbringers, out June 30, 2023 via Napalm Records! | Pre Order HEREFirst Single “Destroyer” & Official Music Video Out Now | Watch HERE

[photo credit: Teppo Ristola]

Finnish melodic death metal band BEFORE THE DAWN return after a decade-long hiatus and announce their new album, Stormbringers, to be released on June 30, 2023 via Napalm Records! Today, the band serves up a first taste of their highly anticipated upcoming album with the massive single, “Destroyer”, together with a captivating official music video.

“Destroyer” takes no prisoners – relentless drumming and ever-changing guitar lines build up a wall of sound that sets the tone for the album perfectly. Harsh sounds interfere with calmer parts, the intense clean vocals of Paavo Laapotti, and an astonishing guitar solo. BEFORE THE DAWN prove that even after their absence, they haven’t lost a glimpse of their power and unleash a storm – paving their way to reconquer the scene!

BEFORE THE DAWN on “Destroyer”:
“’Destroyer’ was the 1st song written for the new album and being the spark that ignited the whole writing process it deserves to be the 1st single as well. The song also reflects really well the rediscovered fire inside the band and our determination and strength we have gathered during the 10 years of hibernation.”

Watch the Official Music Video for “Destroyer” HERE:

After a long 10-year hiatus, Finnish melodic death metal band BEFORE THE DAWN proudly returns! Formed in 1999, chart-cracking BEFORE THE DAWN reigned as one of the most successful Finnish metal bands of the early 2000’s, and since their burial in 2013, hundreds of thousands of new fans have discovered their music on streaming platforms, entirely without promotion or labels involved. Did the music find the people, or the people find the music – one can’t be sure, but after being inactive for almost a decade, BEFORE THE DAWN now returns with their first new full length studio album since their hiatus – and stronger than ever! The band originated as Finnish Metal Award winning Tuomas Saukkonen’s (Wolfheart) solo project, but throughout the years, there have been several lineup changes. With the exciting new lineup, the band introduces its biggest changes so far. Previous guitarist and vocalist Saukkonen has moved behind the drums, and talented Voice Of Finland 2022 finalist Paavo Laapotti has taken on all vocalist duties, while Swallow The Sun’s Juho Räihä – who has been with BEFORE THE DAWN since 2006 – performs lead guitar duties. Now, the Finns have fully transformed into their new power and are ready to reconquer the scene!

BEFORE THE DAWN on Stormbringers:
Stormbringers breaks a silence that lasted over 10 years and brings BEFORE THE DAWN back stronger than ever. A decade of gathering strength, growing the hunger and building determination and now it is time for our 8th album to see the light of the day and bring the band back on the road.”

Catch BEFORE THE DAWN Live On Their Official European Comeback Show!
02.06.2023 – Luzern, CH / Konzerthaus Schüür

Pre Order Your Copy NOW!

Stormbringers sets off right away with first single “Destroyer”, and following track “Chains” lures the listener with stomping drums, heavy riffs and ever-changing clean vocals with deep growls. With ease, the album balances aggressive and raw death metal facets with haunting melancholy carried by Paavo Laapotti’s vocals and intense melodies. This can be witnessed on “Downhearted” – a forward moving mid-tempo track spiced up with visceral growls illustrating the depths of darkness. Likewise, “Reveries” is a mighty hymn with incredible melodies and excellent guitar lines, while “Divided” enchants with a delicate intro mixing acoustic guitar and piano tunes that build up to a melodic wall of brutal sound. “Chaos Star” immediately draws the listener into an intense soundscape where intense death metal parts interfere with a melancholic, visceral melody and a passionate chorus showcasing Paavo Laapotti’s vocal skills, while “The Dark” catches instantly with an intense intro and – as with the whole album – a wild ride between calmer parts, intense growls and untamable death metal passages. With StormbringersBEFORE THE DAWN prove that even after 10 years of absence, they haven’t lost a glimpse of their power and unleash a storm – paving their way to reconquer the scene!

Stormbringers track listing:

  1. The Dawn
  2. Destroyer
  3. Reveries
  4. Downhearted
  5. Chains
  6. Divided
  7. The Dark
  8. Chaos Star
  9. The Weight

Stormbringers will be available in the following formats:
1-LP Colored Vinyl
6-page Digisleeve
CD + Shirt Bundle
Digital Album

Vocals – Paavo Laapotti
Guitar – Juho Räihä
Bass –  Pyry Hanski
Drums – Tuomas SaukkonenBEFORE THE DAWN online: