Märvel to release ”Double Decade” vinyl compilation // New single ”Catch 22” out now

Märvel to release ”Double Decade” vinyl compilation

New single ”Catch 22” out now

Stream ”Catch 22:

Listen on Youtube:

Full Image

As part of their 20th anniversary celebrations, Swedish power trio Märvel will release the double vinyl compilation ”Double Decade” in the beginning of 2023. Packed with Märvel‘s patented take on high-octane and super catchy rock‘n‘roll, the double vinyl contains Märvel’s greatest hits, previously impossible to get B-sides, and rare tracks, all newly mastered by Magnus Lindberg (The Hellacopters, Imperial State Electric, Cult Of Luna, The Datsuns, Tribulation, Lucifer).

The compilation also includes two brand new, previously unreleased songs, mixed by Robert Pehrsson (Dundertåget, Death Breath, Robert Pehrsson’s Humbucker). One of these new tracks is called ”Catch 22” and is released as a digital single on the 20th of January.

Märvel on ”Catch 22”:

Sometimes, no matter how hard you try you end up with your beard in the mailbox or pants down to your ankles with a school-bus full of idiots laughing at you. You just can‘t win. And even more sometimes, you‘re in a relationship where you can‘t stand each other but still can‘t exist without each other.

Catch 22 was recorded during the studio sessions for the album Graces Came With Malice. We felt it didn‘t quite fit the theme of the album but it was still a strong song that we wanted to highlight in a special way. By including it in Double Decade we‘re looking backwards and forwards at the same time. Like a rear-view mirror facing forwards.

Full Image

The double vinyl ”Double Decade” will be available in two different set of colors, one containing 2x transparent clear vinyl, and the other containing one transparent orange and one transparent purple vinyl. Both versions come in a luxurious gatefold with an exclusive booklet. ”Double Decade” will be released on The Sign Records on February 24, 2023.

Pre-order ”Double Decade” now:

Connect with Märvel:


Märvel was formed in 2002 when John Steen (The King), Ulrik Bostedt (Speedo) and Tony Samuelsson (The Vicar) spent a high school exchange year in Colorado, USA. Ditching classes, drinking beer and playing rock n roll in the garage gave the world “Marvellous”, their first EP. The band got airtime on several college radio stations before they left the USA and returned to Sweden with lousy grades, but high spirits. Two other vinyl EP’s (“Heroine Tracks” & “Bedlam at the Embassy”) were released the following years through Swedish indie labels.

Between 2003 and 2011, the band started honing their skills and image by playing live and recording three albums. Constant touring and airplay during the period helped the band to build a very loyal fanbase in Europe.

With the release of their third full length album “Warhawks of War”, Märvel went through some changes. The earlier superhero gimmick was abandoned in favor of new and more iconic personas, The King, The Vicar and Speedo. A second live bass player, The Aviator,  was also added to the line up. The band fully stepped into the new characters by also adopting them live on stage. “Warhawks of War” was released in 2011 and marked a big step forward for the band in terms of sound and strong material. It also featured the guest stars Strings (Dundertåget, Hellacopters) and Dregen (Backyard Babies, Hellacopters, Michael Monroe).

In 2012, Speedo (Ulrik Bostedt) was replaced by Burgher (Ulrik Bostedt). Filled with youthful raw energy, and with a unique style, Burgher helped catapult the band even further while touring Germany, France and Spain to promote the Warhawks album.

After touring with Dregen in 2013, the band returned to the studio to record “Hadal Zone Express”. The album was released 28th of March 2014 to a never ending stream of praise. In the fall, the band recorded a mini album, with Fred Estby,“The Hills Have Eyes”. The title track along with a cover of W.A.S.P’s L.O.V.E. Machine made a big fuzz and got frequent air time.

In 2017, the band partnered with The Sign Records, and the first release was the seventh album “at the Sunshine Factory”, the first Märvel album to be recorded fully by themselves in their own newly established studio, Solskensfabriken.  The second release was a cheeky cover album, “Guilty Pleasures”, featuring songs from a wide spectrum of artists such as Dire Straits, Agnetha Fältskog, REO Speedwagon and Monster Magnet.

In September last year the first single (“Slasher With A Broken Heart”) from the new album “Graces Came With Malice” was released, followed by two more singles (“One Common Enemy” and “Lizard’s Tounge”) before the busy celebration year arrived. In early 2022 Märvel released another two singles (“Sound Of Life Slipping Away” and “Great Man”) before the album release in April. In connection with the album release, another track (“Hot Nite In Dallas”) was released with an accompanying music video produced by Max Ljungberg. The song is a cover of Moon Martin and premiered in the american magazine “Metal Injection” and was featured on UK´s Classic Rock Magazine / Louder‘s “Tracks of the Week”.

The album “Graces Came With Malice” was released to critical acclaim and scored high reviews in Germany’s biggest online magazine “Rock Hard”, England’s “Classic Rock magazine” and many more across the globe.

In August Märvel held their own two day festival (Märvelfest) in Linköping Sweden where they invited new and old friends like The Pusjkins, Freedom, Omni Of Halos, Knifven, Dictator Ship, Hedda Hatar, Lykantropi and Reptile Tounge to celebrate this milestone – 20 years as a band!

In November Märvel flew to Spain for their first headline tour in the country since the 2011 tour in support of the album “Warhawks of War”. They toured in the cities of Barcelona, Lleida, Zaragoza, Toledo and Madrid. “We got a fantastic reception from the spanish Märvel Army and the crowd rocked like there was no tomorrow. Be sure it won’t be another 11 years before we rock ‘n’ roll Spain again!”

What else do we have to look forward to in 2023? The Spanish online magazine “Rock N Roll Army” will launch a series of articles covering the entire career of Märvel with exclusive interviews with the members about nostalgia, memories, music and lots of candid stuff for the Märvel Army fans around the world.

The upcoming double album ”Double Decade” will crown the celebration of the 20th anniversary. The album contains two brand new songs, Märvel’s greatest hits remastered and previously impossible to get B-sides and rare tracks. Both the two new songs will be accompanied by music videos. The first single will be released on December 2nd along with the pre-order of the album and the second single will be released in January in 2023, one month before the album release the 24th of February.

So you want more eh!? It remains to be seen what 2023 has to offer but one thing is clear, you can count on a band more eager than ever to meet all their fans around the world. Make sure to catch them on the road when you get the chance!