Marc Urselli’s STEPPENDOOM premiere single ‘4th of July’ taken from “Superunknown Redux”

Marc Urselli's STEPPENDOOM logo

Marc Urselli’s

premiere single
‘4th of July’
taken from
“Superunknown Redux”

Punctually on the 4th of July, Marc Urselli’s STEPPENDOOM present their unique take on SOUNDGARDEN‘s doomy classic ‘4th of July‘. This beautifully strange rendition features an actual member of SOUNDGARDEN in drummer Matt Cameron (also PEARL JAM, FOO FIGHTERS) as well as Igor Sydorenko of  Ukraine’s STONED JESUS, multi-instrumentalist Alain Johannes (QUEENS OF THE STONE AGE, ELEVEN) and throat singers Utelo and the legendary Albert Kuvezin (of Tuvan throat singing collective YAT-KHA).More information about the forthcoming MER Redux Series installment “Superunknown Redux” can be found below. The massive double album has been scheduled for release on July 14.

The Marc Urselli’s STEPPENDOOM cover track of SOUNDGARDEN‘s ‘4th of July’ is now available for publication via this link

pre-sale link t

Parallel to “Superunknown Redux”, Magnetic Eye Records will release the by now customary companion album entitled “Best of Soundgarden Redux” that contains further 15 cover versions of deep cuts and all-time classics from across SOUNDGARDEN’s extensive catalogue recorded by more exciting artists.

Marc Urselli’s STEPPENDOOM ‘4th of July’
a Soungarden cover taken from the album “Superunknown Redux”

Marc Urselli comments: “The Seattle grunge scene changed my life”, the project’s mastermind explains. “I was wearing flannel and listening to anything from there I could get my hands on, and out of all the bands from that scene, Soundgarden were one of my absolute favorites. When Magnetic Eye invited me to do ‘4th of July’, I jumped at the opportunity to do a sludgy and weird rendition. I immediately thought about inviting Matt Cameron to play drums on it. Matt graciously agreed to participate and this clearly is a major honor. For the vocals, the obvious choice to add throat singing, which is the essence of SteppenDoom, was Albert Kuvezin of Yat-Kha, because he’s the only throat singer with experience doing kargyraa throat renditions of rock songs. I also invited Utelo to add some extra layers in different styles of overtone singing (khoomei or sygyt). The invasion of Ukraine had just started and I loved the idea of collaborating with a Ukrainian artist to show my support for the people of Ukraine. Igor from Stoned Jesus had turned his recording studio into a bunker to stay safe during the bombings. The fact that he could record his vocals while his country and city were under attack was a small miracle and a testament to his unwavering dedication to music, even in times of war!”

The exciting STEPPENDOOM project from New York City and London-based Italian-Swiss audio engineer, sound designer, composer, and multi-instrumentalist Marc Urselli sees the producer inviting and uniting eminent musicians from the doom metal genre and legendary indigenous singers employing ancient throat signing traditions from around the globe. Among many others, the renowned artists who answered three-time Grammy Award winner Marc Urselli’s call include Matt Pike (SLEEP, HIGH ON FIRE), Aaron Aedy (PARADISE LOST), Steve Von Till (NEUROSIS), Christopher Juul (HEILUNG), Dave Chandler (SAINT VITUS), and Scott “Wino” Weinrich (THE OBSESSED) from the metal side, as well as masters of throat signing such as Alash Ensemble, Batzorig Vaanchig “Zorigoo”, HUUN-HUUR-TU, Tanya Tagaq, Albert Kuvezin (YAT-KHA), and Alexey Tegin. The ancient art of throat singing carries on in the grasslands, tundras, and hearts of the people living in and with nature. Heavy metal was born in England’s industrial heartlands to the pounding of steel hammers and the mechanised mining of coal. Yet both share a deep desire for freedom and human dignity. The common literary trope to describe a fusion of music from seemingly quite different genres and different peoples under headlines announcing ‘a clash of styles’ or ‘when worlds collide’ obviously does not apply to Marc Urselli’s STEPPENDOOM. This celebration of artistic unity rather leans itself to be summarised by the phrase ‘when worlds unite”. Marc Urselli’s STEPPENDOOM asks to be listened to with non-prejudiced ears and an open mind. While the album and its songs may require some time to properly absorb, they ultimately reveal a stunning beauty that sees eagles soar over cities, winds from the steppes awakening hearts and minds, ice turning to arctic animals, and many other miracles. Ancient magic is joined to modern forces here, creating something revolutionary and new that contains one of the oldest forms of human expressions: the cry for freedom!

"Superuknown Redux" cover
Tracklist “Superunknown Redux”
1. Ufomammut ‘Let Me Drown
2. High Priest feat. Bobby Ferry (16) ‘My Wave’
3. Marissa Nadler ‘Fell on Black Days’
4. Somnuri ‘Mailman’
5. Valley of the Sun ‘Superunknown’
6. Frayle ‘Head Down’
7. Spotlights ‘Black Hole Sun’
8. Horseburner ‘Spoonman’
9. Witch Mountain ‘Limo Wreck’
10. Beastwars ‘The Day I Tried to Live’
11. Jack Harlon & The Dead Crows ‘Kickstand’
12. The Age of Truth ‘Fresh Tendrils’
13. Marc Urselli’s SteppenDoom feat. Matt Cameron (Soundgarden, Pearl Jam), Igor Sydorenko (Stoned Jesus), Alain Johannes (Queens of the Stone Age, Eleven), Albert Kuvezin (Yat-Kha) & Utelo ‘4th of July’
14. Dozer ‘Half’
15. Darkher ‘Like Suicide’
SteppenDoom artists images

Rising at the end of the 20th century, SOUNDGARDEN were loud, heavy, genuine, and unaffected by whatever was cool.  Their mix of weighty power, soaring melodies and punk sneer made them ideal standard bearers for the grunge movement, but their towering musicianship and intelligent songcraft helped them transcend the era and remain iconic far beyond their origins in the Seattle scene. Arguably their finest and most comprehensive statement, Superunknown” was the album that launched them to global mega-stardom. It contains some of the most lasting, meaningful, and heaviest songs they ever wrote.

“Superunknown Redux” presents new takes on all fifteen tracks from the seminal SOUNDGARDEN album from some of the loudest, coolest, and most eclectic bands across rock and metal today, along with a few less heavy but absolutely captivating contributions.

Along with “Superunknown Redux”, we also present our “Best of Soundgarden Redux” companion album, offering up another 15 all-time classics and deep cuts from across the rest of the grunge gods’ extensive catalog.

The Magnetic Eye Redux Series features hand-picked classic albums from across the history of rock and metal re-imagined in their entirety from start to finish. Artists we love from within and outside the heavy rock landscape choose tracks to make their own, bringing these milestone records into the new millennium with crushing heaviness and searing energy. To date, we’ve produced Redux editions of PINK FLOYD’s “The Wall”, HELMET’s “Meantime”, BLACK SABBATH’s “Vol. 4”, HENDRIX’s “Electric Ladyland”, ALICE IN CHAINS’ “Dirt”, and AC/DC’s “Back in Black”, which have included artists like RED FANG, MATT PIKE, PALLBEARER, THE MELVINS, ALL THEM WITCHES, KHEMMIS, ASG, SUPERSUCKERS, ZAKK WYLDE, MARK LANEGAN, RUBY THE HATCHET, and many more amazing artists.

Tune into the seventh foray into Redux territory as Magnetic Eye Records and friends pay long-due respect to the Seattle legends with “Superunknown Redux”.

Release date: July 14, 2023
Style: Doom, Stoner Rock & Metal, Psych Rock et al.
Label: Magnetic Eye Records


“Superunknown Redux” is available as  a gatefold marble red and black vinyl 2LP, a gatefold white vinyl 2LP, and a gatefold black vinyl 2LP, and as a Digisleeve 2CD.

"Soundgarden Redux" Kickstarter banner