MADDER MORTEM To Release Old Eyes, New Heart Via Dark Essence Records On 26th January 2024

MADDER MORTEM To Release Old Eyes, New Heart Via Dark Essence Records On 26th January 2024

It has been five years since MADDER MORTEM released their seventh full-length album “Marrow”, and it has been a long, hard journey, beset by turmoil and heartbreaking loss, which culminated in the death of Jakob, father of the band’s vocalist Agnete and guitarist BP.
Jakob had always been a huge supporter of the band, and his backing was fundamental to the launch of MADDER MORTEM‘s career. Being an artist himself, Jakob had worked on two paintings for “Old Eyes, New Heart”, and, thanks to the band’s long-term collaborator artist and video producer Costin Chioreanu, who was able to adapt Jakob’s work and provide additional design, the cover art was completed. Even though Jakob didn’t live to see the finished album, he would have been immensely proud to see his art on the cover, and the album is dedicated to his memory.
“Old Eyes, New Heart” was recorded and produced by BP M. Kirkevaag, and shows MADDER MORTEM‘s lineup of Agnete M. Kirkevaag on vocals, BP M. Kirkevaag on guitar & vocals, Anders Langberg on guitars, Tormod L. Moseng on bass and Mads Solås on drums embracing a multitude of directions, spanning from post-metal heaviness to soft Americana grooves and everything in between.
It is an album full of surprises. Lyrically and musically, “Old Eyes, New Heart” deals with hope, disappointment, and the ambivalence between them. It is music from old hearts and deep roots, with new eyes open to the unlimited possibilities of 12 notes, but always with the desire to write a good, honest song. Which makes it unmistakably MADDER MORTEM.

1. Coming from the Dark
2. On Guard
3. Master Tongue
4. The Head that Wears the Crown
5. Cold Hard Rain
6. Unity
7. Towers
8. Here and Now
9. Things I’ll Never Do
10. Long Road

Style: Prog, Avant Garde, Post-Metal

Line up:
Agnete M. Kirkevaag: Vocals
BP M. Kirkevaag: Guitar, vocals
Anders Langberg: Guitar
Tormod L. Moseng: Bass
Mads Solås: Drums

Recorded at Skytterhuset and Studio Omnivore on and off between May 2021 and February 2022. Engineered and mixed by BP M. Kirkevaag. Produced by BPMK & Madder Mortem. Mastered by Peter In de Betou at Tailor Maid.

Cover: Jakob Kirkevaag & Costin Chioreanu